Posting your rating...
Navy Bay Dark rum

Navy Bay Dark

Jamaica | Dark

5.0/10
8 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
3
1

Rate Navy Bay Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Navy Bay Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 9 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 320 ratings

This rum is better than expected, purchased some miniatures at Total wine for airplane trip, decided to try one first. Classic Jamaican funk going on here in a delicate balance of sweet rum nice enough to drink straight. Slight burn no extra funky aftertaste just good Jamaican rum akin to Appleton.

Noting bottle price sub $20 I think it’s solid. Should pair well with coke or other rum punch.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 420 ratings

For only $16 US, i just had to try a bottle of this dark Jamaican rum. It is shipped to Bardstown Kentucky before bottling. I honestly was not expecting much, but this one is now my favorite dark rum, even beating out Cruzan Black Strap. The amount of hogo funk is just right for me, and I actually prefer this one over Hampden Estate 8 year (which costs a lot more). The only bad side is that it appears to be only available from Total Wine, and lucky for me, one is fairly close.

On the hogo funk meter, I compared it side by side in Glencairn glasses to my Appleton 8 year. This rum definitely has more hogo funk, but not as much as the Appleton 12 year that I have a love/hate relationship with. In other words, this rum would make for one truly great Mai Tai! Plantation Original Dark also had the least amount of hogo funk out of all three, and also having the lightest color. This one is a tad darker than Appleton 8 Year Reserve Blend.

Not being one to leave things alone, I did a little bit more of researching on this rum. It is produced by Infinity Spirits, but with a location based in Kentucky instead of The Netherlands. This is the same company that produces the line of Cane Island rums from different locations in the Caribbean and Central America. They also produce Ron Alegro from the Dominican Republic. I found this rum at the same store as all of the Ron Alegros that I have tried, so this makes perfect sense. I still don't know what Jamaican distilleries created this rum, but what a good job at a great price!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 483 ratings

I saw this at Total Wine & More (where everyone else so far seems to have picked this up), and decided to try the mini, as it was inexpensive. This is surprisingly good for the money (a full bottle costs only $15.99).

Has a clear Jamaican funk that others talked about, with the right amount of sweetness. I think this is a great rum for the money - definitely worth trying if you're low on money.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by carl from United States with 56 ratings

I agree with the other reviewers that this one has a funky smell and taste. It reminds me somewhat of rhum agricole but different. I tried it neat at first and then mixed it, but couldn’t shake the taste. Maybe it’s just not my style. The good news is I got this as a small sample bottle for $2 at Total Wine, so no big loss.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by RosieSox from United States with 37 ratings

I think there are better ways of adding funk without breaking the bank… perhaps add 1/2 oz of some Wray and Nephew. Anyway, there isn’t much molasses or full body and I keep thinking, “Is this all there is?”

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Shandyman from United States with 5 ratings

I expected this to be a poor tasting cheap rum. It surprised me by being a bit more complex than I was expecting while still being very easy to drink. A 5, moving up to a 6 due to the low price and general availability.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by thomashm from United States with 3 ratings

A great mixing rum, it has that typical rum funk you would expect from a Jamaican rum, which is exactly why I bought it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2839 ratings

New Rum at the local Total Wine, so had to try out the Navy Bay Rum Dark Jamaican Rum. Cheap bottle and label design. Mahogany color. Strong oak mixed with plenty of funk and glue to your nose and palate when neat sipped. You still get the nasty flavor profile even after mixing it. Better skip this one altogether.