Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (516 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
56
135
178
103
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


516 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by vdb from Belgium with 20 ratings

Un superbe découverte, un mélange de saveur. Un goût surprenant avec un rétro long et rond.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $39.99 (K&L Wines).

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

O tomto Venezuelskom rume som počul, že je dobrý. Po malej degustácii by som povedal, že je viac ako len dobrý. A to po všetkých stránkach. Pekná tmavo zlatá farba naznačuje, že zrel vo vypálených sudoch. Po prvom privoňaní medové plásty, pražené oriešky, karamel. Príjemná sladkastá vôňa. Rum je s peknou viskozitou, pomaly steká po stenách pohára. Na prvý pocit na jazyku sladký, chuť postupne prejde do jemne drevitej, lemovanej sušeným ovocím a hrozienkami. Je veľmi jemný so stredne dlhou dochuťou. Povedal by som, že je sladký tak akurát, ak nie trošku menej. Celkovo kvalitný a chutný rum nielen pre začiatočníkov, ale aj pre pokročilých rumových nadšencov. Určite každému odporúčam, nakoľko v tejto cenovej relácii (niečo cez 30€) je veľmi veľa oveľa horších rumov.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LHS from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is outstanding as both a sipper or mixed. It's pleasant, accommodating, flexible and delicious. Perhaps more of a generalist in it's applicability, if I had to settle on having only one rum, this would be it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.