Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


477 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Had myself a tasting with the Angostura 1824, Atlantico and Santa Teresa 1796 and the problem for me was that I couldn't quite decide the better of the three. I found them too similar.

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $39.99 (K&L Wines).

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

Posted about 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

Posted over 4 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

Posted about 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

O tomto Venezuelskom rume som počul, že je dobrý. Po malej degustácii by som povedal, že je viac ako len dobrý. A to po všetkých stránkach. Pekná tmavo zlatá farba naznačuje, že zrel vo vypálených sudoch. Po prvom privoňaní medové plásty, pražené oriešky, karamel. Príjemná sladkastá vôňa. Rum je s peknou viskozitou, pomaly steká po stenách pohára. Na prvý pocit na jazyku sladký, chuť postupne prejde do jemne drevitej, lemovanej sušeným ovocím a hrozienkami. Je veľmi jemný so stredne dlhou dochuťou. Povedal by som, že je sladký tak akurát, ak nie trošku menej. Celkovo kvalitný a chutný rum nielen pre začiatočníkov, ale aj pre pokročilých rumových nadšencov. Určite každému odporúčam, nakoľko v tejto cenovej relácii (niečo cez 30€) je veľmi veľa oveľa horších rumov.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Everything u want from a rum. The smell, after taste and smooth. Subtle flavours you notice after every glass.There is a very whiskey feel to this rum. A go to when you want to relax.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.

Posted over 4 years ago by LHS from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is outstanding as both a sipper or mixed. It's pleasant, accommodating, flexible and delicious. Perhaps more of a generalist in it's applicability, if I had to settle on having only one rum, this would be it.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

My wife found this for my 40th and it was great way to celebrate a bottle you don,t want to finish (not easy to find) but want to keep drinking

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schönes helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sind Harz und Holz sehr präsent, gefolgt von Zitrusfrüchten und frischem Gras.
Im Gaumen weich und harmonisch, kandierte Früchte, leichte Nuancen von Vanille, Kakau und Holz.
Im Abgang etwas Alkoholschärfe mit Schokolade und Holz.
Ein gutgemachter und ehrlicher Rum, nicht gesüsst. Für Einsteiger die einem "ungeschminktem" Rum begegnen möchten. Natürlich auch für Geniesser. 7+

Nice light amber in the glass.
In the nose, resin and wood are very present, followed by citrus fruits and fresh grass.
On the palate soft and harmonious, candied fruits, slight nuances of vanilla, cacao and wood.
In the finish some alcohol sharpness with chocolate and wood.
A well-made and honest rum, not sweetened. For beginners who want to encounter an "unvarnished" rum. Of course also for connoisseurs. 7+

Posted almost 4 years ago by Olivier Raynaut from United States with 10 ratings

What a good surprise was it to test this rum! It has a light but nice orange color.
The nose is very sweet with hints of vanilla, caramel and oak.
In the mouth it is very delightful, it feels sweet but just enough, with aromas of vanilla, baking spice, and even maybe a tiny bit ofor chocolate.
Try it!!!

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Vlajková loď venezuelské firmy Santa Teresa. Na trhu je od roku 1996. Pod názvem 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera byla představena u příležitosti dvoustého výročí Hacienda de Santa Teresa. Už z názvu je jasné, že zrání probíhá metodou solera. Jedná se o směs rumů starých 4 až 35 let. Ochutnal jsem 1/3 lahve při rumovo-doutníkové párty s kamarády z práce, jeden vzorek pro kontrolu degustuju ještě teď při psaní.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Ve vůni je nejvíc znát broušená kůže, karamel, skořice a jemně čokoláda a zralé ovoce. Při důkladnějším hledání i vanilka. Při třetí sklence jsem v ní našel i pomerančovou marmeládu, a určitou podobnost s Pyratem XO. Nevím, zda to ovlivnila skutečnost, že ke třetí sklence došlo ke snoubení Santa Teresy a dominikánského doutníku Davidoff 3x3 v robustu, ale kolegové, kteří Pyrata XO také znají, mi pomeranče oba potrdili. (87 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku kakao, přezrálé ovoce, chuťově je tento rum hladivě jemný, jen s náznakem sladkosti. První dojem byl suchý, další sklenky už odhalily, že chuť není až tak přísně suchá. Po polknutí je jemnost vystřídána suchým kořením a hřejivostí alkoholu. (85 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Na tento rum jsem si zuby brousil několik let, od chvíle , kdy mne poněkud zklamala mladší Santa Teresa a uviděl jsem tuhle lákavou butylku. Jedná se o dobrý rum, kolegům jemností v chuti připomínal Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva. Když budu hodně přísný, tak i přesto, že je to dobrý rum, tak bych vzhledem k ceně čekal ještě nějakou "přidanou hodnotu", když ho bezprostředně porovnám s nedávno představenou prémiovou čtyřkou Arcane-Atlantico-Zaya a Zafra, tak můj dojem je, že jejich kvalit nedosahuje. To ale může být ovlivněno tím, že mám rád výraznější chutě a vůně.

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

A fine rum. Not to sweet. A nice and slightly dry palate, but overall lacking a bit of body for my taste

Posted 7 months ago by Cutrush (PREMIUM) from Australia with 3 ratings

Shares a lot with Diplomatico coming from Venezuela, without that super uniqueness that has so many people in the Diplomatico camp. One of those ones where after the first sip I looked at the glass and said 'wow!' Nice and sweet, full flavour and a little kick. Will definitely pick up a bottle of this when I get the chance and I will not be wasting it on a mixer.

Posted about 1 year ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Its nice... sweet... little bit spicy and fruity and with woody taste... somewhere in my lower top 10 (6-7) with diplomatico reserva exclusiva at the top.

Posted over 1 year ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

while other Venezuelan rums have suffered quality issues (not surprisingly), ST1796 has maintained its credentials as a super, additive-free rum drinker's rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

This rum suprised me, it has strong body, qualite alcohol tail, strong aroma, still you can find smoothness in the taste.

Posted about 2 years ago by Kevin Savage from Canada with 2 ratings

Great rum and very easy to drink neat. Lots of Carmel notes and light oak.

Posted about 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

An incredible rum for a reasonable price - really smooth and easy to sip straight or on ice. Loved it!

Posted about 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I am new to the world of aged Rums and must add that I like to sip on aged Rum rather than mixing it. I recently purchased a bottle of Santa Teresa 1796 Rum from our local Liquor outlet. Having minimal experience with Rums I was pleasantly surprised at the profile of this Rum, which was not at all what I had expected. The aroma was sweet with flavours of molasses, butterscotch as well as oak being detected. In the mouth this Rum, while sweeter than my previous tasting with St. Nicholas Abbey Rums, but not overly sweet and was very flavourful. A nice sipper Rum to add to my collection and, best of all, it is very affordable.

Posted about 3 years ago by Umberto from Italy with 16 ratings

Un profumo indimenticabile con un forte sentore di ciliegie e frutti rossi. Amabile con finale medio corto. Delizioso