Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (492 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
15
55
128
171
97
17

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


492 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

5ee808222d5e82f74944814fc7ba2b35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

It goes down smooth with a little bit of an afterburn. I like the fact that it's not too sweet but still offers very complex favors. I enjoy having this one when I'm more in the mood for sipping a dryer rum as oppessed to the sweeter ones like Diplomatico or Zaya.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $39.99 (K&L Wines).

6abe6b80bfce47c1fb96dcd4bab29ac2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

2f4b80584c3c02c182c63da43b438310.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

B5e70c8d31206e96fa6e6f58d906d4e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Cb1e81b1fc20faf14cdd80e1b946b272.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

O tomto Venezuelskom rume som počul, že je dobrý. Po malej degustácii by som povedal, že je viac ako len dobrý. A to po všetkých stránkach. Pekná tmavo zlatá farba naznačuje, že zrel vo vypálených sudoch. Po prvom privoňaní medové plásty, pražené oriešky, karamel. Príjemná sladkastá vôňa. Rum je s peknou viskozitou, pomaly steká po stenách pohára. Na prvý pocit na jazyku sladký, chuť postupne prejde do jemne drevitej, lemovanej sušeným ovocím a hrozienkami. Je veľmi jemný so stredne dlhou dochuťou. Povedal by som, že je sladký tak akurát, ak nie trošku menej. Celkovo kvalitný a chutný rum nielen pre začiatočníkov, ale aj pre pokročilých rumových nadšencov. Určite každému odporúčam, nakoľko v tejto cenovej relácii (niečo cez 30€) je veľmi veľa oveľa horších rumov.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.

Eb74eb2cff748686301719db3438657b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Everything u want from a rum. The smell, after taste and smooth. Subtle flavours you notice after every glass.There is a very whiskey feel to this rum. A go to when you want to relax.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.