Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (532 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
58
141
183
106
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


532 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

Nice dark amber color and great smell. Has a nice smooth taste, the only downside is it leaves a lingering burn. I like to sip rum and this one is a nice sipper as long as you are ok with the burn.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This rum starts out with, Spank my booty and call me Martha but ends on a very flat note. Nice Mouth but the finish is a bit disappointing. Update, this rum has been sitting in the back of my rum cabinet just collecting dust, pulled it out for a dram and let it sit and breathe for 10-15 minutes and holy mackerel it has blossomed into a whole new drink. Very nice and excellent overall. Very smooth and silky.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rick from United States with 5 ratings

The best rum around. The way the rum should be. This is a rum that rank with others at half the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

I found this rum to be a bit too dry and it felt like it was too young. Not much to offer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Had myself a tasting with the Angostura 1824, Atlantico and Santa Teresa 1796 and the problem for me was that I couldn't quite decide the better of the three. I found them too similar.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Not as full-on flavoured as say Diplomatico Reserva, but the flavour comes more in the form of subtly sweet okay notes, and might be one of the most easy to drink rums I've had. Has absolutely no afterburn and is exceptionally smooth, if it was cheaper I could easily see myself necking most of a bottle in a night.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Trevor Owens from United States with 5 ratings

Beautiful fragrant smell, smooth and pure taste. Points for the story and bigger picture. Best overall rum I have had to date.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Un rom decent, fara ceva deosebit, seamana cu Flor de Cana, aspru, corpolent, cu gust de butoi foarte proeminent.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by clochardo from Belgium with 64 ratings

Un profil aromatique sur un boisé très présent mais qui se marie parfaitement avec ses notes de caramel et de crème pâtissière. Il reste cependant assez sec. Il s'agit ici du seul rhum que je bois sur glace car je trouve que ça le sublime vraiment.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum , reminded me of Matusalem 15 (but better) and Millonario 15 (but not as sweet).
Not a great deal of nose but a nice golden colour when poured. Very easy to sip neat and also with ice. Tried also with cola but didn't get any taste improvement. Gentle burn and nice exit , would buy again as quite reasonable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Miguel from Dominican Republic with 14 ratings

An excellent Venezuelan rum, to be permanent part of my "active collection" (my 10 best). I love this rum, and I believe is the best representative of Venezuelan rums.