Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (532 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
58
141
183
106
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


532 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This is a nice complex rum with a variety of flavors. This should be enjoyed neat or on the rocks. The only complaint is the price point. For $10 less I can get some Ron Zacapa, which is just as good, and may be better as far as the aromatics are concerned.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Its nice... sweet... little bit spicy and fruity and with woody taste... somewhere in my lower top 10 (6-7) with diplomatico reserva exclusiva at the top.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

while other Venezuelan rums have suffered quality issues (not surprisingly), ST1796 has maintained its credentials as a super, additive-free rum drinker's rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

This rum suprised me, it has strong body, qualite alcohol tail, strong aroma, still you can find smoothness in the taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin Savage from Canada with 2 ratings

Great rum and very easy to drink neat. Lots of Carmel notes and light oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

An incredible rum for a reasonable price - really smooth and easy to sip straight or on ice. Loved it!

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 160 ratings

I am new to the world of aged Rums and must add that I like to sip on aged Rum rather than mixing it. I recently purchased a bottle of Santa Teresa 1796 Rum from our local Liquor outlet. Having minimal experience with Rums I was pleasantly surprised at the profile of this Rum, which was not at all what I had expected. The aroma was sweet with flavours of molasses, butterscotch as well as oak being detected. In the mouth this Rum, while sweeter than my previous tasting with St. Nicholas Abbey Rums, but not overly sweet and was very flavourful. A nice sipper Rum to add to my collection and, best of all, it is very affordable.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Umberto from Italy with 16 ratings

Un profumo indimenticabile con un forte sentore di ciliegie e frutti rossi. Amabile con finale medio corto. Delizioso

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

ST 1976 is similar to Mount Gay Extra Old, but with a little more depth of flavor. With little/no added sugar, this is a solid, dependable, dry sipping rum that's WAY better than its neighbors Diplomatico and Pampero.

Recommended neat, or in a Rum Old Fashioned.

I hope to revisit this review after further tasting.

7+, 8-

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

If you're into dry Rum this might just be the ticket. Personally, I don't like it that much but I can't give it anything below 7 because it is fullbodied & complex. But it is so dry that I find the finish almost Dry Martini-esque.

I prefer Rums like El Dorado 15 which have lots of added sugar (but are still well balanced and don't taste like a rum liqueur). For dry-rum purists who insist that added sugar will 'mask' a Rum's character the Santa Teresa 1796 is perfect.

It has a lot to offer but not quite my thing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

I'm partial to drier rums and this certainly fits the bill. As others have said a very balanced rum. So many flavors dance on the pallette. Vanilla, molasses, honey, butterscotch with a faint tint of tobacco. Well done and at a ridiculously low price point