Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10
559 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
17
63
147
195
108
19

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

559 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by MOX from Sweden with 13 ratings

Vanilla and rich notes of butterscotch, molasses and chocolate, banana sweet notes. Hints of Calvados.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

A fine rum. Not to sweet. A nice and slightly dry palate, but overall lacking a bit of body for my taste

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Paul from Australia with 127 ratings

This is a brilliant drop, sipper not a mixer, cant wait to have a stormy day and do nothing

Small 0b29d8f1 2b74 4cf1 99fb 20fd58acf330

Posted 3 months ago by Mr.Black (PREMIUM) from United States with 6 ratings

Smooth down the throat. Warm in the mouth. Just so good.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by FunkyZebra from United States with 11 ratings

Picked this up on a whim, I've heard of this rum before but never tried it. Smooth finish but I think there is better rum out there for the price.

Color: Amber
Nose: Caramel and a hint of chocolate and coffee
Taste: Smokey tobacco that changes to sweet syrup is what I keep getting

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 3 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 42 ratings

Tastes of oak, vanilla, black pepper, molasses, and caramel. Medium afterburn with a smooth finish. Nice Candle wax presentation.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ben9494 from United States with 5 ratings

Excellent sipping rum, never to be used with a mixer. No sticky sweetness or residue. Nice complexity. I like half an ice cube no more.

Small img 1323

Posted 4 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

This is rum from Venezuela up to 15 years old, which is aged in oak barrels using the solera system. This rum reputedly saved the distillery from collapse.

The rum is delivered in a tall bottle that has a wax-sealed cap. It looks quite impressive, but I prefer more chubby types of bottles, which in my opinion are more suitable for rum. I would rather leave tall bottles for wine. :-)

Color: Medium amber
Aroma: The first breath is less sweet and stronger oak woody. Overall, the scent is slightly vanilla and there is a feeling of synthetic varnish. Over time, the aroma softens and the rum smells quite pleasant.
Taste: The taste is especially caramel and dried tropical fruits, as well as a little vanilla and cinnamon. It is rather drier, a bit similar to bourbon. Overall, it's quite gentle, only at the end I noticed a slightly pungent tail. Other reviews say it's a sweeter rum, but I don't think so.

Overall, I definitely recommend tasting this rum, but I'm not thinking about buying a bottle yet.

My rating: 8 points from 10

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Jukilicious from Finland with 4 ratings

Soft start, sweet flavour with slight of vanilla and caramel. After boost brings the strong back makkng your mouth numb

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Dave from Belgium with 41 ratings

Perfect gebalanceerde rum.
Lekker bij een cuban cigar

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Roderick Russell (PREMIUM) from United States with 1 rating

I find this one to be a solid choice for my Mai Tais