Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (542 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
61
143
187
107
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

542 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lucacordoni85 from Italy with 2 ratings

Rum molto scuro e molto saporito, si sente molto il caramello e la vaniglia, la bottiglia è sigillata con la ceralacca

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by FunkyZebra from United States with 9 ratings

Picked this up on a whim, I've heard of this rum before but never tried it. Smooth finish but I think there is better rum out there for the price.

Color: Amber
Nose: Caramel and a hint of chocolate and coffee
Taste: Smokey tobacco that changes to sweet syrup is what I keep getting

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 12 days ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 42 ratings

Tastes of oak, vanilla, black pepper, molasses, and caramel. Medium afterburn with a smooth finish. Nice Candle wax presentation.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Ben9494 from United States with 3 ratings

Excellent sipping rum, never to be used with a mixer. No sticky sweetness or residue. Nice complexity. I like half an ice cube no more.

Small img 1323

Posted 1 month ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 45 ratings

This is rum from Venezuela up to 15 years old, which is aged in oak barrels using the solera system. This rum reputedly saved the distillery from collapse.

The rum is delivered in a tall bottle that has a wax-sealed cap. It looks quite impressive, but I prefer more chubby types of bottles, which in my opinion are more suitable for rum. I would rather leave tall bottles for wine. :-)

Color: Medium amber
Aroma: The first breath is less sweet and stronger oak woody. Overall, the scent is slightly vanilla and there is a feeling of synthetic varnish. Over time, the aroma softens and the rum smells quite pleasant.
Taste: The taste is especially caramel and dried tropical fruits, as well as a little vanilla and cinnamon. It is rather drier, a bit similar to bourbon. Overall, it's quite gentle, only at the end I noticed a slightly pungent tail. Other reviews say it's a sweeter rum, but I don't think so.

Overall, I definitely recommend tasting this rum, but I'm not thinking about buying a bottle yet.

My rating: 8 points from 10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jukilicious from Finland with 4 ratings

Soft start, sweet flavour with slight of vanilla and caramel. After boost brings the strong back makkng your mouth numb

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Dave from Belgium with 41 ratings

Perfect gebalanceerde rum.
Lekker bij een cuban cigar

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Roderick Russell (PREMIUM) from United States with 1 rating

I find this one to be a solid choice for my Mai Tais

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

I have had my eye on this for quite a while and finally broke down and bought a bottle Wow, what a great rum Full body, very smooth, lingers in the mouth. Not a lot of added spices, just great rum taste. I will certainly have more of this.

Small img 20210110 180302

Posted 4 months ago by Florin from Romania with 31 ratings

Acest rom este o experienta frumoasa. cred ca este cel mai echilibrat rom pe care l am incercat pana acum.
Cutie inalta sticla simpatica , culoare mahon usor deschis.
in miros se simte scortisoara si ceva tarie doar cat sa te anunte ca e acolo,destul de subtila, la fel de subtila si ceva dulceata.

in gust predomina cuisoarele, si in romul asta chiar pot distinge bine acest gust fata de cel de nuci cu care il confund de obicei. alcoolul este subtil, vine in valuri in doze mici , foarte placut. se mai disting in gust caramelul si ceva vanilie .
vine din venezuela ca si diplomatico reserva exclusiva si nu are la fel de multa complexitate dar este mai echilibrat si cu mult mai putin zahar (sau poate chiar nu are )
seamana cu flor de cana 18 , gustul pare apropiat (desi acolo am descris gust de nuci ) , dar la flor de cana taria este mult mai puternica .

aduce zambet )

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Scott Nowicki from United States with 10 ratings

That's all I have to say. Such a well balanced warm, vanilla & caramel rum. I know Solera rums are a bit controversial, but it really is tasty, regardless of the "age."