Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (515 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
16
56
135
178
103
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


515 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

Nice dark amber color and great smell. Has a nice smooth taste, the only downside is it leaves a lingering burn. I like to sip rum and this one is a nice sipper as long as you are ok with the burn.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I don’t understand why the ratings on this rum are not higher. Beautiful gold color from blending multiple rums aged 4-35 years old and then aged for an additional year in French oak. The sweetness is a molasses/caramel with wood. I think one of the best in its price point. Definitely a “Buy”.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 35 ratings

Nose: unmistakably rum, with wood, vanilla buttercream and spice giving way to a touch of wasabi-style, nose clearing alcohol. The nose kind of reminds me of aged Canadian rye. On the palate, it’s round and smooth, with dry wood blending with a touch of sweetness, complemented by baking spices such as clove and cinnamon. The long finish has some integrated, mellow heat and is very nice. This is a very nice sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Xavier Barcelona from Spain with 5 ratings

Solo abrir la botella y percibir su agradable aroma ya se intuye que es un gran Ron. Fácil de beber y nada alcoholico en boca, es de esos rones que podrías beber y beber porque esta realmente bueno. No me ha gustado el precinto de cera de la botella que deja residuos al romperse, solo por este motivo no le pongo un 10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 16 ratings

Very smooth and mellow, but with a superb taste that holds your attention long after it passes your tongue.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Cutrush (PREMIUM) from Australia with 3 ratings

Shares a lot with Diplomatico coming from Venezuela, without that super uniqueness that has so many people in the Diplomatico camp. One of those ones where after the first sip I looked at the glass and said 'wow!' Nice and sweet, full flavour and a little kick. Will definitely pick up a bottle of this when I get the chance and I will not be wasting it on a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Its nice... sweet... little bit spicy and fruity and with woody taste... somewhere in my lower top 10 (6-7) with diplomatico reserva exclusiva at the top.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

while other Venezuelan rums have suffered quality issues (not surprisingly), ST1796 has maintained its credentials as a super, additive-free rum drinker's rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 98 ratings

This rum suprised me, it has strong body, qualite alcohol tail, strong aroma, still you can find smoothness in the taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin Savage from Canada with 2 ratings

Great rum and very easy to drink neat. Lots of Carmel notes and light oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

An incredible rum for a reasonable price - really smooth and easy to sip straight or on ice. Loved it!