Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10
583 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
18
64
154
205
113
19

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

583 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by nimrodrose from Israel with 7 ratings

all the good things about the style

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 249 ratings

A fine rum. Not to sweet. A nice and slightly dry palate, but overall lacking a bit of body for my taste

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 36 ratings

This rum is a great average rum with a little bit of everything: sugar cane taste, good body, balanced aroma, smooth finish. Great stuff!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

Nit expexting much, but I was surprised how good it is. Really smooth, easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Paul from Australia with 135 ratings

This is a brilliant drop, sipper not a mixer, cant wait to have a stormy day and do nothing

Small 0b29d8f1 2b74 4cf1 99fb 20fd58acf330

Posted 7 months ago by Mr.Black (PREMIUM) from United States with 6 ratings

Smooth down the throat. Warm in the mouth. Just so good.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by FunkyZebra from United States with 11 ratings

Picked this up on a whim, I've heard of this rum before but never tried it. Smooth finish but I think there is better rum out there for the price.

Color: Amber
Nose: Caramel and a hint of chocolate and coffee
Taste: Smokey tobacco that changes to sweet syrup is what I keep getting

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 7 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 45 ratings

Tastes of oak, vanilla, black pepper, molasses, and caramel. Medium afterburn with a smooth finish. Nice Candle wax presentation.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ben9494 from United States with 5 ratings

Excellent sipping rum, never to be used with a mixer. No sticky sweetness or residue. Nice complexity. I like half an ice cube no more.

Small img 1323

Posted 8 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 51 ratings

This is rum from Venezuela up to 15 years old, which is aged in oak barrels using the solera system. This rum reputedly saved the distillery from collapse.

The rum is delivered in a tall bottle that has a wax-sealed cap. It looks quite impressive, but I prefer more chubby types of bottles, which in my opinion are more suitable for rum. I would rather leave tall bottles for wine. :-)

Color: Medium amber
Aroma: The first breath is less sweet and stronger oak woody. Overall, the scent is slightly vanilla and there is a feeling of synthetic varnish. Over time, the aroma softens and the rum smells quite pleasant.
Taste: The taste is especially caramel and dried tropical fruits, as well as a little vanilla and cinnamon. It is rather drier, a bit similar to bourbon. Overall, it's quite gentle, only at the end I noticed a slightly pungent tail. Other reviews say it's a sweeter rum, but I don't think so.

Overall, I definitely recommend tasting this rum, but I'm not thinking about buying a bottle yet.

My rating: 8 points from 10

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Jukilicious from Finland with 4 ratings

Soft start, sweet flavour with slight of vanilla and caramel. After boost brings the strong back makkng your mouth numb