Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (518 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
57
135
179
103
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


518 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by C. F. from United States with 29 ratings

Solid aged rum. Good flavor. I can't find anything super distinctive about it good or bad.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Everything u want from a rum. The smell, after taste and smooth. Subtle flavours you notice after every glass.There is a very whiskey feel to this rum. A go to when you want to relax.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

My wife found this for my 40th and it was great way to celebrate a bottle you don,t want to finish (not easy to find) but want to keep drinking

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by kbill from Romania with 23 ratings

A real sipper, good stuff, one of those that should be found in any personal bar for fine moments. For the moment, the best I found in its price range.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 359 ratings

Schönes helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sind Harz und Holz sehr präsent, gefolgt von Zitrusfrüchten und frischem Gras.
Im Gaumen weich und harmonisch, kandierte Früchte, leichte Nuancen von Vanille, Kakau und Holz.
Im Abgang etwas Alkoholschärfe mit Schokolade und Holz.
Ein gutgemachter und ehrlicher Rum, nicht gesüsst. Für Einsteiger die einem "ungeschminktem" Rum begegnen möchten. Natürlich auch für Geniesser. 7+

Nice light amber in the glass.
In the nose, resin and wood are very present, followed by citrus fruits and fresh grass.
On the palate soft and harmonious, candied fruits, slight nuances of vanilla, cacao and wood.
In the finish some alcohol sharpness with chocolate and wood.
A well-made and honest rum, not sweetened. For beginners who want to encounter an "unvarnished" rum. Of course also for connoisseurs. 7+

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Olivier Raynaut from United States with 10 ratings

What a good surprise was it to test this rum! It has a light but nice orange color.
The nose is very sweet with hints of vanilla, caramel and oak.
In the mouth it is very delightful, it feels sweet but just enough, with aromas of vanilla, baking spice, and even maybe a tiny bit ofor chocolate.
Try it!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRas from United States with 7 ratings

This rum has everything that a good rum sipper should have. It starts with some stone fruits and caramel notes but finishing dry and long. The solera gives it some extra depth in character and you can easily compare it with a great cognac or brandy de Jerez. Great value and for the more advanced palate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Vlajková loď venezuelské firmy Santa Teresa. Na trhu je od roku 1996. Pod názvem 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera byla představena u příležitosti dvoustého výročí Hacienda de Santa Teresa. Už z názvu je jasné, že zrání probíhá metodou solera. Jedná se o směs rumů starých 4 až 35 let. Ochutnal jsem 1/3 lahve při rumovo-doutníkové párty s kamarády z práce, jeden vzorek pro kontrolu degustuju ještě teď při psaní.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Ve vůni je nejvíc znát broušená kůže, karamel, skořice a jemně čokoláda a zralé ovoce. Při důkladnějším hledání i vanilka. Při třetí sklence jsem v ní našel i pomerančovou marmeládu, a určitou podobnost s Pyratem XO. Nevím, zda to ovlivnila skutečnost, že ke třetí sklence došlo ke snoubení Santa Teresy a dominikánského doutníku Davidoff 3x3 v robustu, ale kolegové, kteří Pyrata XO také znají, mi pomeranče oba potrdili. (87 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku kakao, přezrálé ovoce, chuťově je tento rum hladivě jemný, jen s náznakem sladkosti. První dojem byl suchý, další sklenky už odhalily, že chuť není až tak přísně suchá. Po polknutí je jemnost vystřídána suchým kořením a hřejivostí alkoholu. (85 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Na tento rum jsem si zuby brousil několik let, od chvíle , kdy mne poněkud zklamala mladší Santa Teresa a uviděl jsem tuhle lákavou butylku. Jedná se o dobrý rum, kolegům jemností v chuti připomínal Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva. Když budu hodně přísný, tak i přesto, že je to dobrý rum, tak bych vzhledem k ceně čekal ještě nějakou "přidanou hodnotu", když ho bezprostředně porovnám s nedávno představenou prémiovou čtyřkou Arcane-Atlantico-Zaya a Zafra, tak můj dojem je, že jejich kvalit nedosahuje. To ale může být ovlivněno tím, že mám rád výraznější chutě a vůně.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

A fine rum. Not to sweet. A nice and slightly dry palate, but overall lacking a bit of body for my taste

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Roderick Russell (PREMIUM) from United States with 1 rating

I find this one to be a solid choice for my Mai Tais

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

I have had my eye on this for quite a while and finally broke down and bought a bottle Wow, what a great rum Full body, very smooth, lingers in the mouth. Not a lot of added spices, just great rum taste. I will certainly have more of this.