Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10 (518 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
17
57
135
179
103
18

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


518 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by C. F. from United States with 29 ratings

Solid aged rum. Good flavor. I can't find anything super distinctive about it good or bad.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

I had good references of Santa Teresa 1796, but in my opinion it is inferior to Zacapa 23 or El Dorado 15.
Smooth, but has a little alcohol taste.
I recommend only if you find a low price.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jcb375 from United States with 9 ratings

Not the best and not the worst. Could be mixed or sipped. At the lower end of taste/nose/quality for sipping, but it a good start for someone new to rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice taste nice smell. Ron is interesting. Teresa was good choice of name for it. I like it.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

One of my favorites, at the bar and at home. Always a delight.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

First thing in the nose is smooth warming alcohol with hints of vanilla, cinnamon, oak and maybe even a touch of caramel or molasses. No one thing stands out to me nor does any one thing dominate. Very, very smooth and pleasant aroma.

Sampling neat in a snifter. Soft natural sweetness and fruitiness followed by warming alcohol on the palate. Mid taste starts to dry out and brings a slightly bitter leather hint and drying lingering soft oak notes. Very smooth on the palate. The barrels do not take over this rum, it stays smooth and 'rummy' throughout. Very soft and complex. I think age has mellowed this rum more than anything else. Warming and never hot. Medium/long finish that is dry and slightly oaky.

This is a very nice sipping rum. It doesn't take on bourbon-like or other barrel aged spirit qualities that bury the rum but it does take on complexities from the aging that add depth of flavor and character. I can see it being a really nice rum in simple cocktails as well but I wouldn't use this in complex cocktails or tiki drinks as I think the subtle complexities would be lost in that arena.

This seems like a true rum enthusiast's rum, unadulterated, no sugar or additives. If you like pure aged rums with no sugar or bull then give this a try. A true delight to sip! Back in the day I gave Ron Zacapa a 9. I wouldn't give it that now but I still think it's a great sipper for what it is. This is a better rum. I give this a solid 8.5!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Surprised this one has such a low score as I think it's one of the best bang for buck rums in my collection.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 1 year ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Solera aging with ex bourbon and French cask. No big age indication on it which is a good point.

Chocolate mousse drizzly with warm honey and lightly zest of orange on the nose. Good touch of cedar wood towards the end.

As on the palate, it's slightly dryer and lesser on body compare to nose. Lightly sweeten dark chocolate with macadamia nuts. It gets drier towards the end, tannic and touch of cedar wood.

Finish with cup of warm honey with slice of lemon. Dry cedar wood was prominent after a couple of seconds but it ended too soon.

Good to have it on its own or on an Old Fashioned with dash of Angostura bitters and 2 dashes of chocolate bitters.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by marcdeerenberg from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Simply delicious.
Lived for 4 years in Caracas and never visited the hacienda.
Shame on me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jimmy from Canada with 4 ratings

The beautiful colour in the glass is augmented by toffee tones with nice spicy aftertaste. Definitely underrated and worth every penny.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Erico from Peru with 8 ratings

Un ron muy equilibrado, lleno de sabores, suave, seco, agradable en todo sentido.