Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


479 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Trošku menej sladký ako diplomatico, ale inak sa naň veľmi podobá. Naozaj skvelý rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

nice on the nose, nice on the tongue to start, but the rest, the finish, a bit harsh for a better word, for me anyway. I want to like it, the aging process sounds just right... but... never-the-less, a fine rum. Hoping it gets better each time, if so, I'll update my review.

Posted over 4 years ago by Alejandro Mestre from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 6 ratings

Se trata de un ron notablemente seco, donde se aprecian notas de roble y frutos secos. Elaborado en: El Consejo, Estado Aragua, Venezuela.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Nice sugar carne smell, but too alcohol taste expecialy finish. Dry, strong...

Posted over 4 years ago by Rave13 from Italy with 12 ratings

Good taste and full-bodied. Not too sweet, you can notice chocolate and coffee notes, but not so over-tasty as others remarkable rums. Very good equilibrium achived

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Drank back to back with the anejo gran reserva and compared to that this was mature, sweet and deep but still not great.

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

La nouvelle édition de bouteille recèle un rhum moins somptueux qu'avant c'est triste mais quant même bon.

Posted over 4 years ago by fifonlaideur from France with 25 ratings

Très bon rhum correspondant à ce que l'on attend d'un bon rhum de style hispanique, fruité, pas trop sucré.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Santa Teresa Solera 1796 is het paradepaardje van het merk, het vlaggenschip, de koploper en de trots van de distilleerderij. Een uitzonderlijke rum in alle facetten, bijzonder rijk van smaak en verleidelijk van geur met een diepe kleur waar je in zou kunnen verdwalen.

De diepe mahonie kleur trekt direct de aandacht en maakt nieuwsgierig naar de inhoud, omringd door intense aroma’s van onder andere vanille, honing en kaneel met hints van sherry afkomstig van de vaten waar de rum in heeft gerijpt.

Het smakenpalet is voortreffelijk, donker fruit wordt gecombineerd met zalige tonen van sherry, karamel en overrijpe banaan die elkaar op speelse wijze afwisselen. Hints van nootmuskaat en kaneel met chocolade en tabak komen voorbij en geven de rum een lekkere, spannende draai. De smaaksensatie eindigt vervolgens in een lange en verfrissende afdronk van eikenhout en geroosterde noten.

Santa Teresa Solera 1796 wordt terecht gezien als één van de beste rum in zijn prijsklasse, de rum heeft dan ook de ongelofelijk hoge score van 96 punten mogen ontvangen van de Wine Enthusiast!

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Excellent, gout de caramel et épices. Il est doux et très agréable a boire. J'adore les rhums de ce pays.

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

Sådär.... Säkert god i Cola
⭐️⭐️⭐️...............

Posted over 4 years ago by kosmik from Canada with 15 ratings

Très beau nez d'épices douces (cannelle, girofle, vanille), de caramel, de banane caramélisée, charbon de bois.
En bouche, la texture est presque sirupeuse, à boire et à manger ici.
Ça se gâte en gorge où il est brûlant en attaque, ce qui lui fait perdre des points pour nous. En allonge, il laisse place à une bonne dose de caramel, d'épices et une belle longueur.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Nice complex and aromatic and sweet nose.
Caramel and orange peel aromas. Spicy hints (nutmeg and cinnamon)
Sweet soft attack but very long peppery, smoky earthy finish (tourbe)

Power and elegance compared to its entry level black label

Posted over 4 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Santa teresa 1796 is unusual. Full front of the tongue taste and punch you in the mouth flavor. Everything tastes fresh. Freshly cut fruit, fresh cut flowers, fresh sugar....weird but brilliantly vibrant. Its unique, and that's unusual. Well worth the buy and after you wrap your head around it possibly higher rated than this.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

On the nose is smells of raisin, and plum, while in the glass I get swirls of pepper and molasses with an abrupt finish. Very intriguing but not my style, though I have had several guests throughly enjoy it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Dégusté à une journée d'intervale avec le pampero anniversario extra anejo, moins boisé, c'est un rhum plutôt doux, qui éxhale peu l'alcool avec une finale longue. Delicious.

Posted over 4 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

I must admit, I only hat a few sips at a rum tasting with some friends of mine. But I was really disappointed. This rum is very flat, with no body and no soul. (Of course, I do not know, how my friend has treated his bottle - maybe, if I bought one of these myself, I would judge this rum differently. I like the bottle, anyway.

Posted over 4 years ago by jego from France with 26 ratings

Je m'attendais à mieux puisque beaucoup le compare au Diplomatico. Au final, un rhum un peut trop "alcoolisé" à mon gout qui gâche un peu les saveurs. Il reste tout de même un bon rhum mais pour le prix je préfère nettement le Diplomatico.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Nice, dry, non-sweet. Not as good as the rum named in the heading IMO

Posted over 4 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Cool bottle,nice price and a spicy rum. This is a very good buy in the middle class together with Diplomatico Reserva etc..

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Was really interested in this one with it's aging using the solera method. Really like this rum as is not too sweet and has some nice spice notes and lingering finish. A drop of water opens it up.

Posted over 4 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

This is a sweet rum--and a solera, too--in the vein of Ron Zacapa 23. It's very smooth and mildly complex. I think it's a great place for people to start if they don't really like sipping spirits straight. However, I can see myself already tiring of this style.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Ostrejsi, silnejsi rum s vyraunejsi chut, neni tak sladky

Posted over 4 years ago by Jeff from FR with 18 ratings

Agréable mais trop caramel pour moi. Â reesayer peut être dans d'autres circonstances.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dimas from US with 15 ratings

No too strong and does not give special flavors but Santa Teresa 1796 follows the classical school of rums!, and on the rock will work.