Posting your rating...
SangSom Special rum

SangSom Special

Thailand | Gold

4.5/10(49 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
12
6
11
6

Rate SangSom Special

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 SangSom Special ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Root-theory from Poland with 56 ratings

Jeszcze w ramach przygotowania do urlopu badałem sprawę co warto spróbować z alkoholi starzonych w Tajlandii. Okazuje się iż trunków lokalnej produkcji jest na tyle niewiele iż raczej trzeba było się skupić na ogólnie dostępnych oraz popularnych propozycjach. Także dziś lokalna gwiazda, rum Sang Som dostępny praktycznie na każdym rogu, w każdym sklepie tego słonecznego kraju.

ZAPACH: Palony cukier, zmywacz do paznokci, w tle melasa no i trochę alkoholu.

SMAK: Słodki, lekka limetka, suszone owoce oraz karmel. Alkohol od razu wskakuje na pierwszy plan i powoduje czucie rozgrzewania w ustach. Po kilku małych łykach reszta cieczy ląduje do coli - tam mu najlepiej, choć nie powiem że mi było bardzo przyjemnie.

Co dobrego można powiedzieć o Sang Som? Otóż niewiele. Przede wszystkim niska cena (około 15pln za butelkę 300ml w kraju producenta oraz duża dostępność (szczególnie w sklepach sieci Seven-Eleven). Dorzuciłbym jeszcze, iż nie czuję się oszukany - nie jest to tani sikacz po którym boli głowa. Zdecydowanie jednak była to najlepsza z propozycji które były dostępne w sklepach, no i jedna z niewielu która posiadała pełną moc - 40%. Reszta charakteryzowała się opisami typu blended spirit i mocami rzędu 28 do 35% oraz zawsze gorszymi wrażeniami smakowymi.

W smaku Sang Som nie przypomina rumu ciemnego jaki ogólnie znamy ale również odrzuca. Można go na prosty sposób opisać jako mocny alkohol z czekoladowego cukierka (typu np. czekoladowy wiśnia z alkoholem). W Tajlandii nic lepszego nie nabędziecie jeżeli najdzie Was ochota spróbować czegoś z ich rodzimego podwórka. A jeżeli lubicie eksperymenty - polecam z oryginalnym, tajskim redbull'em który kosztuje 1,10PLN, jest słodszy i bez gazu. Po prostu bomba.

OCENA: 45/100

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Friends brought this back from a pan-Asian rumfest (don't ask). I was immediately struck by the distinctive aroma of flowers and incense. A little weird, to be sure, but not unpleasant. I have no idea whether this is "rum" as we know it, but it's certainly drinkable, and much less offensive than anything from the swill-mongers who produce Bacardi and Captain Morgan. Oh, and by the way, it's a decent accompaniment to Thai food...

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

I had a very good time with a few bottles of that liquid but can't call that rum. I'd like to learn more about how it's made. More of a caramelly whisky to me.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

It's nothing fancy and doesn't pretend to be. I always drink this when in Thailand and there's nothing else like it. If you like Spiced Rum, you'll love this! Great in cocktails with a unique twist, with Coke, Sprite or Redbull if you want to go there. Well worth trying!!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I enjoyed this pretty smooth, sweet rum, went down pretty well for me ;-)

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 25 ratings

This rum from Thailand brings back great memories, but that's the only good thing about this rum. It smells and tastes like gasoline, with no inspiration. It's extremely cheap, so you get what you pay for.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2697 ratings

SangSom bottle and label looks cheap, but guess what, the bottle is less than $5 in Thailand. The best memories from early 2000 are from Thailand and especially from fullmoon rave parties, a few bottles of SangSom and not too much Cola. Trying it again in 2018, its miles better than Captain Morgan, Kraken and Bacardi rums. SangSom has a very sweet odor to the nose, vanilla like flavor profile. No alcohol smell to the nose, but there's definitely a kick at the taste test. Nothing awful, and surprisingly small amount of burn. If your youth time includes a trip to Thailand and if you know what fullmoon parties are, then the bottle of SangSom is a blessed reminder of the good old times.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Erik from United States with 9 ratings

While in Thailand, drink Thai rum!

Does it get any worse than this?

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 470 ratings

I had this at a rum event as a taster and honestly I wouldn't use it as dishwasher detergent let alone consume it... I spat it straight out and the burn from it was incredibly bad... Horrible keep well away

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 15 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 78 ratings

This rum was given to me by a friend who went to Thailand. To be honest he could have spared himself the extra cargo because this rum is only good if you want to get drunk and lame by typical booze!! Have to admit that it is better than the commercial cheap bacardi rums!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

This stuff is nuts, really cheap in price but it has some lovely flavours in it. It does pack a punch in the alcohol department, but I have had just as bad for twice the price. Way better than any Captain Morgan or Bacardi standard Rums. I'm guessing a lot of folk are just hating this because of snobbery and price.