Posting your rating...
SangSom Special rum

Rate SangSom Special

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


44 SangSom Special ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 35 ratings

En helt ok rom att använda som drinkingrediens.
Har provat den ren men detta är inget jag rekommenderar då smakerna försvinner av strykan då den är en aning vass.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

I had a very good time with a few bottles of that liquid but can't call that rum. I'd like to learn more about how it's made. More of a caramelly whisky to me.

Posted over 1 year ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 17 ratings

This rum from Thailand brings back great memories, but that's the only good thing about this rum. It smells and tastes like gasoline, with no inspiration. It's extremely cheap, so you get what you pay for.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erik from United States with 9 ratings

While in Thailand, drink Thai rum!

Does it get any worse than this?

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

I had this at a rum event as a taster and honestly I wouldn't use it as dishwasher detergent let alone consume it... I spat it straight out and the burn from it was incredibly bad... Horrible keep well away

Posted 3 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

I enjoyed this pretty smooth, sweet rum, went down pretty well for me ;-)

Posted 3 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

Pretty light On the nose and not particularly sweet. Quite warm with a nice bite that is quite aggressive. The aftertaste stays around long after the heat is gone. Undecided if i like the aftertaste.

Posted 3 months ago by Tito from Slovenia with 2 ratings

Everytime I taste something I have to judge it in accordance to it's price. Go to a shop in europe and see what you can get for 10 euros. I'm not a rum person, I see rum as a drink for mixing, cooking and drunks/pirates. This one is surprisingly good for 10 euros/l. Straight, with coke or over some strawberries and sugar. It's much more mellow than havana 7 years in terms of smell, but it is also less sweet and tastes better. Surprisingly smooth as well. For 10 euros this is a best buy for me. If you go to thailand, throw a few bottles in your luggage.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Pur geht der gar nicht, aber gemischt ganz gut. Auch außerhalb von Thailand.

Posted 4 months ago by a.girl.rates.rum from United States with 1 rating

Fond of the flavor in a tropical flavored cocktail!

Posted 5 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Tried it straight. Pretty unique taste, not compareable to other rums in my opinion. After one glass I had enough... But I will try it as a mixer for Mojito/Thai Mojito in the future.

Posted 6 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

This rum is not the worst to drink, probably better for mixing but I drink everything straight. At this reggae bar on an island, talking to the bar staff all evening, it could have been worse. Next day though, bit of a headache haha.

Posted 7 months ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 87 ratings

Thailändsk rom, inte så mycket doft, inte så mycket smak. Trodde den skulle smaka värre. Lättdrucken, passar nog i drinkar.

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Light rum, not outstanding but with lemonade and lime it went down easily enough x

Posted 11 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

Not bad slightly dark and enjoyable drink when sitting on beaches

Posted about 1 year ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Reviews are a bit steep here. Overall in a side by side comparison, it tastes like a stiffer, stronger spiced version of standard issue Captain Morgan spiced. It's certainly drinkable, just not outstanding.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

The easiest way to get drunk in Thailand is to mix this with Coke or Sprite and it tastes slightly better than its brother Mehkong which is whiskey made out of rice.
Picture: My drink rum shelf

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 123 ratings

Wow, some very harsh ratings for this. Think there might be some snobbery going on.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Vraiment pas aimé. Trop sur l'alcool. très costaud

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Helt okej att blanda med cola, lime och en liten skvätt red bull för att fukta strupen i varma thailand.

Posted over 2 years ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Jeszcze w ramach przygotowania do urlopu badałem sprawę co warto spróbować z alkoholi starzonych w Tajlandii. Okazuje się iż trunków lokalnej produkcji jest na tyle niewiele iż raczej trzeba było się skupić na ogólnie dostępnych oraz popularnych propozycjach. Także dziś lokalna gwiazda, rum Sang Som dostępny praktycznie na każdym rogu, w każdym sklepie tego słonecznego kraju.

ZAPACH: Palony cukier, zmywacz do paznokci, w tle melasa no i trochę alkoholu.

SMAK: Słodki, lekka limetka, suszone owoce oraz karmel. Alkohol od razu wskakuje na pierwszy plan i powoduje czucie rozgrzewania w ustach. Po kilku małych łykach reszta cieczy ląduje do coli - tam mu najlepiej, choć nie powiem że mi było bardzo przyjemnie.

Co dobrego można powiedzieć o Sang Som? Otóż niewiele. Przede wszystkim niska cena (około 15pln za butelkę 300ml w kraju producenta oraz duża dostępność (szczególnie w sklepach sieci Seven-Eleven). Dorzuciłbym jeszcze, iż nie czuję się oszukany - nie jest to tani sikacz po którym boli głowa. Zdecydowanie jednak była to najlepsza z propozycji które były dostępne w sklepach, no i jedna z niewielu która posiadała pełną moc - 40%. Reszta charakteryzowała się opisami typu blended spirit i mocami rzędu 28 do 35% oraz zawsze gorszymi wrażeniami smakowymi.

W smaku Sang Som nie przypomina rumu ciemnego jaki ogólnie znamy ale również odrzuca. Można go na prosty sposób opisać jako mocny alkohol z czekoladowego cukierka (typu np. czekoladowy wiśnia z alkoholem). W Tajlandii nic lepszego nie nabędziecie jeżeli najdzie Was ochota spróbować czegoś z ich rodzimego podwórka. A jeżeli lubicie eksperymenty - polecam z oryginalnym, tajskim redbull'em który kosztuje 1,10PLN, jest słodszy i bez gazu. Po prostu bomba.

OCENA: 45/100

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

SangSom bottle and label looks cheap, but guess what, the bottle is less than $5 in Thailand. The best memories from early 2000 are from Thailand and especially from fullmoon rave parties, a few bottles of SangSom and not too much Cola. Trying it again in 2018, its miles better than Captain Morgan, Kraken and Bacardi rums. SangSom has a very sweet odor to the nose, vanilla like flavor profile. No alcohol smell to the nose, but there's definitely a kick at the taste test. Nothing awful, and surprisingly small amount of burn. If your youth time includes a trip to Thailand and if you know what fullmoon parties are, then the bottle of SangSom is a blessed reminder of the good old times.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

I'm sure it tastes great in a punch on a beach in Thailand but this stuff is vile. Picked up a bottle in the duty free on a punt and wish I hadn't bothered. Vile stuff. Good for stripping paint and nothing more. Rated it 2 and not 1 because it's cheap.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Drinkable mixing rum from Thailand. Mix it with pepsi. Don't think it taste the same back home but over there it's nostalgia. Smells and tastes like petroleum.

Posted about 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

It smells of lacquer, alcohol, molasses, barrel, but does not repel. In the mouth bitterness, sourness, burns moderately, it is swallowed easily. Burns the esophagus, heaviness in the abdomen, the head does not load. The taste does not attract, only supports the desire to get drunk.