Posting your rating...
SangSom Special rum

SangSom Special

Thailand | Gold

4.5/10 (46 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
8
11
6
11
5

Rate SangSom Special

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 SangSom Special ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B4efe400d1b2f6f17ac122646b72915d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Makhao from Thailand with 15 ratings

Typically thai this is strongly flavoured and the taste has nothing to do with rum anymore. After tasting I understand, why Thai people call this whiskey and not rum. They add spicy herbs to create a unique flavour, but that takes much getting used to. I think, this is quite similar to the thai Mekhong rum, but slightly better drinkable. Still not my preferred rum...

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Friends brought this back from a pan-Asian rumfest (don't ask). I was immediately struck by the distinctive aroma of flowers and incense. A little weird, to be sure, but not unpleasant. I have no idea whether this is "rum" as we know it, but it's certainly drinkable, and much less offensive than anything from the swill-mongers who produce Bacardi and Captain Morgan. Oh, and by the way, it's a decent accompaniment to Thai food...

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

I had a very good time with a few bottles of that liquid but can't call that rum. I'd like to learn more about how it's made. More of a caramelly whisky to me.

304c53e83df9c2e7d2ef06c9930117db.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This rum from Thailand brings back great memories, but that's the only good thing about this rum. It smells and tastes like gasoline, with no inspiration. It's extremely cheap, so you get what you pay for.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

SangSom bottle and label looks cheap, but guess what, the bottle is less than $5 in Thailand. The best memories from early 2000 are from Thailand and especially from fullmoon rave parties, a few bottles of SangSom and not too much Cola. Trying it again in 2018, its miles better than Captain Morgan, Kraken and Bacardi rums. SangSom has a very sweet odor to the nose, vanilla like flavor profile. No alcohol smell to the nose, but there's definitely a kick at the taste test. Nothing awful, and surprisingly small amount of burn. If your youth time includes a trip to Thailand and if you know what fullmoon parties are, then the bottle of SangSom is a blessed reminder of the good old times.

D906d42204da895eb52b073a10805da7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Erik from United States with 9 ratings

While in Thailand, drink Thai rum!

Does it get any worse than this?

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 388 ratings

I had this at a rum event as a taster and honestly I wouldn't use it as dishwasher detergent let alone consume it... I spat it straight out and the burn from it was incredibly bad... Horrible keep well away

1cbdc6301aa8f6d82116f34d4c5f2f22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 days ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 73 ratings

it's not rum and if you drink it in large quantities there's a strong chance you'll end up in a cheap hotel bed with a ladyboy

B17e3cfb8b5c3fef0157b00ba7131c52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 29 days ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

It's nothing fancy and doesn't pretend to be. I always drink this when in Thailand and there's nothing else like it. If you like Spiced Rum, you'll love this! Great in cocktails with a unique twist, with Coke, Sprite or Redbull if you want to go there. Well worth trying!!

Bf5246ae5f7c57b9daf9c697a5e49f83.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

I enjoyed this pretty smooth, sweet rum, went down pretty well for me ;-)

8302e1700915e7efc046d1476efe481e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 25 ratings

Pretty light On the nose and not particularly sweet. Quite warm with a nice bite that is quite aggressive. The aftertaste stays around long after the heat is gone. Undecided if i like the aftertaste.