Posting your rating...
SangSom Special rum

SangSom Special

Thailand | Gold

4.5/10
49 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
12
6
11
6

Rate SangSom Special

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 SangSom Special ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 37 ratings

En helt ok rom att använda som drinkingrediens.
Har provat den ren men detta är inget jag rekommenderar då smakerna försvinner av strykan då den är en aning vass.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul from Australia with 127 ratings

Not bad slightly dark and enjoyable drink when sitting on beaches

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Reviews are a bit steep here. Overall in a side by side comparison, it tastes like a stiffer, stronger spiced version of standard issue Captain Morgan spiced. It's certainly drinkable, just not outstanding.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

The easiest way to get drunk in Thailand is to mix this with Coke or Sprite and it tastes slightly better than its brother Mehkong which is whiskey made out of rice.
Picture: My drink rum shelf

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Wow, some very harsh ratings for this. Think there might be some snobbery going on.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 126 ratings

Vraiment pas aimé. Trop sur l'alcool. très costaud

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Helt okej att blanda med cola, lime och en liten skvätt red bull för att fukta strupen i varma thailand.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Root-theory from Poland with 56 ratings

Jeszcze w ramach przygotowania do urlopu badałem sprawę co warto spróbować z alkoholi starzonych w Tajlandii. Okazuje się iż trunków lokalnej produkcji jest na tyle niewiele iż raczej trzeba było się skupić na ogólnie dostępnych oraz popularnych propozycjach. Także dziś lokalna gwiazda, rum Sang Som dostępny praktycznie na każdym rogu, w każdym sklepie tego słonecznego kraju.

ZAPACH: Palony cukier, zmywacz do paznokci, w tle melasa no i trochę alkoholu.

SMAK: Słodki, lekka limetka, suszone owoce oraz karmel. Alkohol od razu wskakuje na pierwszy plan i powoduje czucie rozgrzewania w ustach. Po kilku małych łykach reszta cieczy ląduje do coli - tam mu najlepiej, choć nie powiem że mi było bardzo przyjemnie.

Co dobrego można powiedzieć o Sang Som? Otóż niewiele. Przede wszystkim niska cena (około 15pln za butelkę 300ml w kraju producenta oraz duża dostępność (szczególnie w sklepach sieci Seven-Eleven). Dorzuciłbym jeszcze, iż nie czuję się oszukany - nie jest to tani sikacz po którym boli głowa. Zdecydowanie jednak była to najlepsza z propozycji które były dostępne w sklepach, no i jedna z niewielu która posiadała pełną moc - 40%. Reszta charakteryzowała się opisami typu blended spirit i mocami rzędu 28 do 35% oraz zawsze gorszymi wrażeniami smakowymi.

W smaku Sang Som nie przypomina rumu ciemnego jaki ogólnie znamy ale również odrzuca. Można go na prosty sposób opisać jako mocny alkohol z czekoladowego cukierka (typu np. czekoladowy wiśnia z alkoholem). W Tajlandii nic lepszego nie nabędziecie jeżeli najdzie Was ochota spróbować czegoś z ich rodzimego podwórka. A jeżeli lubicie eksperymenty - polecam z oryginalnym, tajskim redbull'em który kosztuje 1,10PLN, jest słodszy i bez gazu. Po prostu bomba.

OCENA: 45/100

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

I'm sure it tastes great in a punch on a beach in Thailand but this stuff is vile. Picked up a bottle in the duty free on a punt and wish I hadn't bothered. Vile stuff. Good for stripping paint and nothing more. Rated it 2 and not 1 because it's cheap.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Drinkable mixing rum from Thailand. Mix it with pepsi. Don't think it taste the same back home but over there it's nostalgia. Smells and tastes like petroleum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 162 ratings

It smells of lacquer, alcohol, molasses, barrel, but does not repel. In the mouth bitterness, sourness, burns moderately, it is swallowed easily. Burns the esophagus, heaviness in the abdomen, the head does not load. The taste does not attract, only supports the desire to get drunk.