Posting your rating...
Sammys Beach Bar Red Head rum

Sammys Beach Bar Red Head

United States | Light

5.0/10 (15 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
2
4

Rate Sammys Beach Bar Red Head

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Sammys Beach Bar Red Head ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Rongo Tiki from United States with 20 ratings

Good mixer, great taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

As far as I know this is the only rum on the market infused with macadamia nuts. You can smell the nuttiness in the bottle but there is also a distinct sweetness to it. Tasting it reveals a whole lotta sweetness to it along with the macadamia flavor. Very unique. But is there rum in there? The flavors from the nuts and also the fruit and vegetable juices (for color according to the label but it's gotta be affecting the flavor) make it more of a liqueur than a standard flavored rum especially being 35% ABV (70 proof). Definitely not a sipping rum but one to use in mixed drinks especially tropical ones. Anyone for a Mojito or Mai Tai with this? I'd like to try it in a hurricane. I think it would be better if they cut back on the sweetness just a little. Definitely a one-of-a-kind rum to have on hand to give your mixed drinks a nice uniqueness. (Also it seems like some of the reviewers were reviewing the Sammy's Beach Bar Rum which is a white/silver rum and completely different from the Red Head macadamia nut infused rum.)

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 33 ratings

strong spirits, a mouth feel like tequila. Good in a mixer, but that's it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

Having lots of time to kill in the McCarran International Airport in Las Vegas, I came across Sammy's Beach Bar. Surely his very own rums can be found there. Having fairly good luck with a bottle of his white rum, I just had to try this one by the glass. I had also been forewarned from many of these reviews. Well. to my surprise, I actually liked the macadamia nut flavor. The color red was kind of odd, but oh well. To the best of my knowledge, the only other macadamia nut rum was made by Trader Vic's. I really liked this one and could not order another for fear of missing my flight.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

Red rum, good idea! The Macademia flavor makes it taste like cookies! a good thing to sip, I would love to see how it would be in cocktails, unfortunately i'm not in maui anymore! nice deep red color! would be good with red velvet cake!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Sammy's Beach Bar Red Head Rum with my friend while road tripping through 18 states and 5,000 miles. Silly and super cheap looking bottle and label design. Reddish color indicating nothing but artificial flavor overload. Overly sweet combination of macadamia nuts and cough syrup to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end. Bad even when mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Keith from United States with 2 ratings

The reddish color should have been an indication to how much it would taste like rum. It reminded me of a strong cough syrup with a consistency similar as well. Unfortunately it’s now a decorative bottle instead of a treat to have occasionally.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Pretty disappointed. Looked forward to trying this one for a while? Very heavy on the syrupy robitussin flavor. Light on the macadamia nut. However it may be good as a mixer. I haven't completely given up yet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

This rum "product" is way to sweet. I cannot think of what kind of cocktail to pair it with. Maybe it would be good in a coffee drink or baked into a cake.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Jannino from United States with 24 ratings

Opened the bottle and the first thing you notice is the strong scent of macadamia nuts. The next surprise is the red color when you pour it into a glass. The taste is not your typical rum taste. The taste of macadamia nuts is the only thing I can taste. It actually tastes more like Amaretto or Frangelico than rum. It has a good taste, just not for a rum

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Not bad, not special.Funky Jamaican pot still type flavor. Not worth the price.