Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.0/10(766 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
14
23
52
117
211
235
66
30
15

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

766 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Root-theory from Poland with 56 ratings

Pierwszy degustowany na blogu rum spiced. Nie wiem za bardzo czego mam się spodziewać więc skuszony spotkaniem z kolegami po pracy którzy zjechali się z całej PL postanowiliśmy zaryzykować, szczególnie iż w ekipie znalazł się jeden miłośnik rumów którego również zainteresował degustowany dziś produkt.

ZAPACH: Kakao, toffi, cynamon, kawa a na koniec wanilia oraz melasa. Alkohol delikatnie gryzie w nozdrza mimo zamaskowania całości przyprawami. Czuć że jest to rum, przyprawy nie dominują tylko ładnie podkręcają oraz "ugrzeczniają" zapach.

SMAK: Tu już jest mniej gładko w porównaniu do zapachu. Wyraźny alkohol, melasa, lekka czekolada, wanilia oraz palony karmel. Przyprawy gdzieś giną ale całość jest dość gładka w piciu. Dodanie lodu wzmaga kremowość, przyprawy uwypuklają się wraz z ukrytą wcześniej pieprznością.

Jak można to wszystko podsumować? Zapach jest miły oraz nie przesadzony - spodziewałem się silnych aromatów piernikowych lub sztucznych przypraw. Smak bez niczego też jest w porządku ale osobiście nie pasują mi przyprawy które w swoim założeniu maskują niedoskonałości samego trunku oraz go uatrakcyjniają, sprawiają wrażenie iż jest on bardziej dojrzały niż w rzeczywistości. Jednak już w drinku dodatkowe aromaty powodują iż smak robi się trochę nie do przewidzenia i możemy zostać zaskoczeni często innym efektem smakowym niż zazwyczaj.

Polecam mimo wszystko SAILOR JERRY SPICED - ładna butelka, dębowy korek, ciekawa etykieta, kontretykieta z informacjami oraz bonus po opróżnieniu butelki po wewnętrznej stronie. Wypowiem się tak jak w przypadku rumu HAVANA CLUB ANEJO ESPIECIAL - do kwoty 60pln za butelkę o pojemności 70cl - warto. Powyżej konkurencja potrafi lepiej. Mam na myśli oczywiście ceny marketowe - w internecie trunki często potrafią kosztować kilkanaście do kilkudziesięciu procent drożej. Jak szukacie tego rumu to znajdziecie go jeszcze w dużym TESCO za cenę 69,99pln

P.S. Zastanawia mnie dlaczego mocniejsza wersja tego rumu (92 proof) jest zamykana metalowa nakrętka, a testowana dziś (80 proof), ma fajny dębowy korek. Być może chodzi o przeznaczenie - wersja z wyższą zawartością alkoholu dedykowana jest do miksowania.

P.S.2 - Za dystrybucją tego rumu stoi znane szkockie konsorcjum: William Grant & Sons Limited.

OCENA: 63/100

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This popular rum is really well marketed, and it's "OK", but may be a little over-rated. It's colour is a decent amber with a bit of a red tinge. It definitely smells of vanilla... I can't quite say what the spices are, besides vanilla, however I think I taste nutmeg/allspice and it has a bit of a harsh "peppery" finish, which I'm not too fond of. Good with a cola, but's there's so many other options...

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by FrozenFrost from Canada with 2 ratings

If I'm going sailing, its with my buddy Jerry.
Chances are if I've got only one bottle of rum in the house, It will be Sailor Jerry.
It is the go to rum for my roommate and myself.
whilst I do still try other rums, If I need a safe choice, I'll take Jerry.

the hint of Vanilla makes It go Especially good with Coke. (I mean, Vanilla rum and coke! heck yeah!)
However this doesn't limit it, I found That SJ makes quite a good Daiquiri

The Simplest Term to Describe SJ is that it is "Ghettolicious" It's Quite cheap. being only about a dollar or so more than your average to low end rum
Yet it just smells. tastes. mixes so well that I can't see myself grabbing something else consistently

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

Introduced to this by a Bother-in-law. A very nice spiced rum. Aroma is almost candy. That burnt sugar/caramel smell is a delight.
Sweet to the taste. Caramel, butterscotch and a touch of vanilla.I do get a bit of a tongue burn, but a smooth swallow with very sweet after taste. Real good with cola. Not at all bad with a rock - straight up

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Max from United States with 3 ratings

Great when mixed and smooth going down. I just started trying this rum but already it is one of my favorites I would highly recommend it for anyone that wants something good but isn’t expensive.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Racketeer from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Strong hints of vanilla with nutmeg undertones. On the sweet side but pairs nicely with coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by LaLa13 from Canada with 2 ratings

Really smooth, and flavourful. It makes your clothes fall off. lmao Must try!!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Andrew Reeves from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Sailor Jerry spiced has a lighter spice taste than some spiced rums, that doesn't make it a lightweight though.
I drink it with 7up, ice and a piece of lime. I love the vanilla and caramel undertones.

And the tattoo stickers under the label have become collectibles and are now decorating my fridge.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven from United States with 4 ratings

I don't have enough room for all the sailor jerry tattoos I want because of the pleasure jerry has brought me and my top party companions.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vin from United States with 14 ratings

It taste like drinking Vanilla Extract and Caramel/Butterscotch. Very drinkable on ice, mixes well with Coke if you want vanilla flavored coke. Quite sweet too.

It's good for the price, but it's definitely heavily vanilla flavored. After drinking GOOD $35 rum you quickly realize all the flaws with this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Derek from United States with 5 ratings

Spiced rum is a tough category, and if your going to buy it off the shelf of a standard liquor store, Sailor Jerry's is a fine choice, and will go great in cocktails. You could probably do better with El Dorado Spiced or Crusoe, or better yet make your own!