Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.1/10(767 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
14
23
52
117
211
235
67
30
15

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

767 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mike Borg Cardona from Denmark with 9 ratings

Way too perfumed of vanilla and i still cannot find a cocktail in which it works

Small screenshot 20201207 014217

Posted 7 months ago by tot2day from Greece with 25 ratings

One of the best you can get on the 20€/bottle mark. Period

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by TommyTea from Germany with 16 ratings

lovely, i get Jerrys when ever i see it in the shops (not very often) .

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 69 ratings

It’s just hard to go wrong with Sailor Jerry. As far as basic rum goes it is the best one. You get very clear and present caramel and brown sugar flavors to go with the right amount of spice. It’s not over done. It isn’t going to ever compare to the upper echelons here, but you can do way worse for $15

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by tm.mele from Italy with 11 ratings

From the quality perspective: it's totally unremarkable. It's very sugary with obviously added flavours: fruits (cherries?), vanilla, spices (black pepper comes to my mind). Too sweet for my taste, clearly artificial in nature, the flavour disappears extremely quickly, no persistence whatsoever.
Ok, the Rum family is rather large and there is no "official" position as to what a Rum should be like... Yet this spiced drink is not Rum in my book: call it liquor.
I think that this product has an interesting quality/price equation especially if you bought it to blend it in a cocktail.
One simple question: if you rate 7 this Rum, how would you rate a Hampden Estate, full proof? Or a Demerara, 15 y.o. by Samaroli, or even more humbly a Remember by Pepi Mongiardino? This I would like to know.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by acschiller25 from United States with 5 ratings

This is terrible. If you want cheap rum, definitely go for Admiral Nelson

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Always enjoy going sailing with my buddy Jerry... great spiced rum that mixes well with a nice cold coke!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jangles from United States with 9 ratings

This would be great if you wanted some lightly sweet and lightly spiced rubbing alcohol... But if you aren't crazy or a raging alcoholic, do yourself a favor and try something else.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joshua Kanowitz from United States with 1 rating

So perfect with diet Coke! So joyful after three drinks! Produces fantastic blackouts due to its 92 percent proof! Joy 1.25 drinks for the price of one! It is so smooth with dirt Coke! I am in love! The buz is Mellow and not as "drunk" as one would think. Drink it with an intention to get FUCKED UP LIKE NEVER BEFORE! I guarantee a slamming good time! Love you!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mike O from United States with 1 rating

I love spiced rums for sipping straight up, and SJ was new to me this week. I was was quite pleased with it. The nose is a bit sleazy - like a cheap come on from the hula girl on the label. But the liquor is more refined than expected. Very forward caramel nose gives way to a nice, burnt sugar aftertaste. I would say SJ holds it's own against any spiced rum out there. Kraken is also good, though a bit sweeter. Pyrat's premium cask is a doozy, and their Reserve is delicious, but they are not spiced as far as I know. I rate SJ an 8 based on the competition, not an absolute scale of 9 being close to perfect, because I've yet to find a "perfect" spiced rum. I see that Bayou gets the highest rating here, so I will buy that next if I can find it. Takes me about 3-4 weeks to get through a bottle, so, I will hopefully discover Nirvana down on the Bayou. Until then SJ at the weekend house, and Pyrat and Kraken in the city will keep my feet up while I read about how DJT is going to either blow the world up and require we all lay in survival stocks (how many cases of Pyrat is the half life of Strontium-90?) or make America Great Again. I give the former a 0 and the latter a 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Dubbery from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Spiced rum is an abomination to kick off with and this is an embarrassment to the genre. Absolute filth. Vanilla - or at least a sickly sweet approximation thereof - is front and centre with a characterless and instantly forgettable baby spice mix annoying you in the background. I expect my bottle to outlive me and will leave directions in my will that it be cremated prior to my funeral.