Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.1/10 (736 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
12
23
50
106
203
227
68
30
14

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


736 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is my go to spiced rum. When in doubt grab this out of the rum stash and you won't be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 13 ratings

It's been a while since I had this rum, used to drink it quite a bit back in the day with my buddy. This stuff will mess up your sense of judgment pretty well if you're into getting plastered peacefully. What I could remember is that it starts off as a decent rum and then kinda kicks your through with some fire then smooths out enough. Overall I personally wouldn't grab this up to enjoy would rather have Kracken tbh but that's another story lol.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Bunshee from Russian Federation with 1 rating

In my view is too strong in taste of alcohol. Light in taste and feels like over 40% vol with quite flat, subtle taste and nose

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

I feel that this rum is nothing extraordinary. In fact I would say that Sailor Jerry offers absolutely nothing in the way of standing out from the crowd when it comes to Spiced Rums for £20 and under. Neat it’s quite jarring with no real sweetness to counter balance the harsh after taste. As a long drink mixed with Coca-Cola this rum definitely improves, because it morphs into a much more pleasant sugary treat. It’s weird in that respect, because when this rum is mixed with coke, it reminds me a wee bit of one of my all time favourite rums, regardless of price, Admirals Old J Vanilla Spiced, but not as luscious and certainly not as sweet. For sure there is a lot of love for Sailor Jerry rum, I cannot deny that. But for me, if you are after an entry level rum to kick start your love affair with Spiced Rums, or you simply want a dulcet tasting rum for £20 or less, there are better options readily available at any good supermarket, Alfred Lamb’s Spiced Rum and Admiral’s Old J Vanilla Spiced to name but two.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kiwipirate from New Zealand with 13 ratings

This rum is pretty decent,

It's got a nice vanilla nose on it and its got a wee bit of spice to it so it as that warming sensation to it when you have a wee sip.

Is it good as a sipper? Not really, I think its better used as a mixer rum but in saying that, you can have a glass of this on the rocks and not be completely repulsed by it. A very well marketed rum and I think its reasonably priced, if slightly over whats its worth.

A decent rum worth a try but you won't be writing home about it. Goes quite well with coke so consider this a go to for a decent Cuba Libre

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

Good inexpensive mixing rum, is what it is. I will take Mt Gay or Appleton’s over this for that purpose

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by E_Winston from United States with 17 ratings

Good choice for using as mixer and to have around when hanging with friends rum that most will enjoy

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Rich from Canada with 27 ratings

On a friends recommendation we let the bottle spend the night in the freezer. I tried it and was pleasantly surprised. My first tests are usually neet, so I liked having the cold on the tip of my tongue with the spice warm feeling at end. The aromas of vanilla and burnt sugar came more as the glass warmed up. Going to try that with more spiced rums.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Brener69 from United States with 1 rating

I like the fact that it's over proofed but it is still really only good for mixing. Goes great with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 103 ratings

It is not too harsh, but the spices somehow remind me of a taste of cheap brandy. Better with coke, but not remarkably. The rum body seems to be better quality than many commercial counterparts (think Morgan). I am not a big fan of spiced rums, taste of this one did not score with me.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Wirkt wie eine hochwertigere Version vom Captain. Dennoch nicht herausragend und es wird wohl bei einer Flasche bleiben.