Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


667 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

My liquor store clerk tried to talk me out of this one, saying it's for college kids. But I got it anyway, and think it's a really good spiced rum. It has a nice vanilla and marshmallow scent with a light peppery spice, and though it's quite strong at 46%abv, I actually like it straight with no ice, which is indicative of a quality rum. As with many spiced rums, there's not much real rum taste here; mainly the added flavoring like vanilla and sugar. But this is a lot better than most spiced rums in my opinion.

Posted almost 7 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Not over the top on the spice good with cola

Posted almost 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Value in the abv, spices are there and the price is not bad. Better than Captain Spiced.

Posted about 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Sailor Jerry is a great cheap rum which still has a bunch of flavor. Fairly spicy, but still has a bit of a lighter fluid feel. Not bad if all you're looking for is a cheap way to have rum, but still maintain some flavor.

Posted about 7 years ago by SaltwaterTom from United States with 20 ratings

Sailor J goes well in G2 Gatorade (don't knock it till you've tried it) and colas, but it's not refined enough to go solo, IMHO.

Posted about 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

This would do in a pinch. Popular in some circles I know...just not mine.

Posted about 7 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

at least better than Captain Morgan...

Posted over 7 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this rum is realy nice to drik withe some cola.
nice and sweet

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

5-star rating says it well, this will do in a pinch, but mixed.....straight up only on a dare.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Another spiced rum

Posted over 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Not a big spiced guy, but it's ok

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

My wife really likes the sailor with cola. I find it pretty good, but not in my top 3-5 spiced rums.

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

The Sailor Jerry spiced rum is really spiced with strong vanilla and cinnamon (as well as nutmeg) notes but it's not sweet enough into my sense.

Posted over 7 years ago by Verner Canatsey from United States with 15 ratings

Good Mixer in Pins Coladas

Posted over 7 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Strong, harsh, nice taste, but no real magical feeling once it's gone down... I love the bottle, the spirit of the brand, certainly remains on my shelf, but not something I can cherish neat. I'm sure in hot weather, on a sail boat, it might feel altogether different. But doesn't keep me warm on cold winter nights.

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Well i think most people agree the original recipe was a bit better, Ive even seen someone from there apparently quoted giving advice to add sugar and vanilla essence to the bottle to replicate the taste of the original which baffles me if I'm honest... :-/

Anyways the current less sweet, slighlty spicier rum is a basic spiced number with plenty of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and a little pepper comes through rounding off the light toffee finish. With the recent influx in spiced rums I would recommend looking around as there is much better on the market now!!

Posted over 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

I prefer this rum in cola. I had used Captain Morgan for years then saw this one show up. Captain Morgan never did much for me so I gave it a try. The distinct cherry flavour caught my attention right away. It is a little sweeter than Captain Morgan. I like the sweet stuff, so mixed with Cola I enjoyed it thoroughly. It isn't for everyone due to the flavour & sweetness but something I always keep around for mixing.

Posted over 7 years ago by Gwawr from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

With Coke. vanilla flavours mainly. Serviceable.

Posted over 7 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Good, but dry rum with cinamon, vanilla and cherry taste.

A little bit too dry for me but would be excellent in drinks when you want something different.

Posted over 7 years ago by Ginge Hiscutt from United States with 8 ratings

Sorry, my son gave me a glass of this and I couldn't drink as it was too sweet. Not being sexist but would be good as a ladies drink