Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


667 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

My liquor store clerk tried to talk me out of this one, saying it's for college kids. But I got it anyway, and think it's a really good spiced rum. It has a nice vanilla and marshmallow scent with a light peppery spice, and though it's quite strong at 46%abv, I actually like it straight with no ice, which is indicative of a quality rum. As with many spiced rums, there's not much real rum taste here; mainly the added flavoring like vanilla and sugar. But this is a lot better than most spiced rums in my opinion.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Juan from Canada with 1 rating

I remember first smelling this, it was like most people say; candy. Very sweet smell and very smooth. I enjoy it a lot in lighter situations like playing video games at night or hanging out with some close friends where top shelf quality isn't sought after.

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

And never really has been!

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Can find it everywhere. Best mixed. Strong vanilla

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

A harsh, flavorless Spiced rum. Can't understand why people like it. Qualifies to me as well spirit.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

In my opinion Sailor Jerry is just too sweet with an overpowering vanilla flavour and aroma

Posted about 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Somewhat similar to Captain Morgan spiced, but less sweet and better balanced. Still, vanilla is overwhelming here pretty much everything else, and the tast is not very rich. Good in mixes, but again for it's price you can get much better.

Posted about 6 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Good in mixed drinks as the unique variety of spice can be overwhelming for some straight up. Can overload a Cuba Libre!

Posted about 6 years ago by ChrisBarker from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I love me some Sailor Jerry it am curious to try some Old J to see how it used to taste. :)

Posted about 6 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

Picked this up as an alternative to the Capt.- tried first taste straight up neat. Enjoyable rum, is a good mid shelf. Mixes well with Coke and ice.

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

I like a spiced rum, but this stuff smells like you opened a bottle of vanilla extract! The only redeeming quality is that it is 80 proof. Mixed with coke and some lime it is a nice drink.

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Heavy vanilla flavor with a hint of cinnamon.

Posted about 6 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

This is my "go to" mixer. Combined with coke you'll get an excellent feel for the vanilla notes of the rum. I have found that drinking it straight (neat/rocks) though produces a bitter, dry finish that's not altogether enjoyable.

Posted about 6 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

one of my friends love this stuff so i tried it not too bad with a little diet coke

Posted about 6 years ago by Sam from United States with 8 ratings

Strong

Posted about 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

At 92 proof this packs a wallop. Much more vanilla flavor than Captain but not as smooth...if you'd call Captain smooth.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

I dont drink spiced rums often, but when I do, I prefer Sailor Jerry. Love the Vanilla and caramel tones. And the artwork on the back of the labels makes purchasing a bottlle interesting.Over all a good choice

Posted about 6 years ago by miro from Bulgaria with 9 ratings

finish

Posted over 6 years ago by Rongo Tiki from United States with 20 ratings

This is actually a great bargain. For the price you get a very versatile rum, I've even sipped it on the rocks.

Posted over 6 years ago by Baconav from United States with 14 ratings

I think of Sailor Jerry as Captain Morgan's lackluster brother. Despite claims of surpassing Captain Morgan it isn't as smooth.

Posted over 6 years ago by LedPipe from Canada with 1 rating

Amber colour, smooth tasting, a little sweet but not to much. Creeper Rum, Strong!

Posted over 6 years ago by gary from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Not as smooth, tasty and doesn't smell as good as the old recipe. It's OK for mixing.
Old J has taken the spot off the old sailor jerry, but it is not quite as smooth

Posted over 6 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Nice rum, that can go in various cocktails

Posted over 6 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

Tried it on a whim and fell in love with it. Being a sailor myself, I feel connected to the history. Great taste and goes with about anything I have tried before. Cola, Apple Juice, Pineapple Juice and Vanilla Cola!

Posted almost 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

nice entry rum, strong spice, vanilla, cinnamon, full bodied, good over ice or with a juice, apple is a good carrier, maybe a little fizzy water and a few dashes of (cola) bitters..you know you've had a shot when chugged...