Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.1/10 (733 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
12
23
49
106
202
226
68
30
14

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


733 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is my go to spiced rum. When in doubt grab this out of the rum stash and you won't be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Haderfck from Denmark with 13 ratings

Denne rom er utrolig smagfuld med en masse krydderier. Den er hverken i den dyre ende eller billige ende (omkring 300kr), og den virker både alene men også til en drink eller The. Et MUST have efter mit vedkommende

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

I do enjoy this rum. Great mixed with a dry and lime (some say coke). However I think over the years my pallet has changed. I can't drink it neat anymore as I feel it's a little over spiced.
Always loved at parties though and tends to be enjoyed by non rum drinkers. A good entertainer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by FranzPattison from Canada with 2 ratings

I can taste the flavours others have identified: caramel, cinnamon, nutmeg, etc, but I was hoping it would be sweeter. As it is, the flavour is harsh and unpalatable as a sipping rum; it leaves me grimacing and forcing myself to swallow. This is a shame because the underlying flavours are very nice, they're just hidden behind a flavour too raw to be enjoyable on its own. It's fine mixed with something but it's just not what I wanted out of it. If it wasn't so expensive I wouldn't feel so swindled.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nice aroma of caramel and vanilla with a rich, spicy flavor. Not for sipping this is best with Coke or the soda of choice. The proof makes it a great value when combined with the taste and one of my bar go to liquors...

Small 26820

Posted almost 2 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Original Recipe Sailor Jerry is a completely different beast when compared to its later counterpart and I always ensure I buy it when I see the limited edition bottles doing the rounds. Deep golden rum with a decent edge of caramel with a huge hit of vanilla, followed by hints of sweet spice. Goes extremely well in any mixed drink.

If you haven't tried the original recipe SJ and you get a chance, don't miss it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by PatPep from United States with 8 ratings

If you like to have a mixed drink this was a great mixer

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

So I won't turn it down when the captain offers me a swig. Again. And again.

But I'm not buyin it!

Sugary, flavored rum, maybe better suited to cooking or aw schucks just raising hell on the waterways.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

Basic spices rum with some strong vanilla tones. Much better than most spiced rums on the market.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

First off, my rating is based on the £15 it's frequently on offer for in the supermarkets, not the £20 RRP. At £20-25 you can do better, but for £15 this is my 'go to' spiced rum (Morgan's Spiced and the like do not come close). Taking cost/value out of the equation, this would get a lower score.

I tried this because it was the cheapest rum available at 'Spoons during my uni days, and it instantly became my favourite. Despite trying various rums since, this remains a staple of my drink cabinet.

Not a sipper, but if you want a smooth and fairly sweet spiced rum for mixing, this is a great option. The vanilla and cinnamon are not subtle, but the overall flavour is very smooth and more-ish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by whyisalltherumgone from United States with 6 ratings

It's basically what Captain Morgan should be, and for the price it should be.