Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.1/10 (733 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
12
23
49
106
202
226
68
30
14

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


733 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Michael Thomas from United States with 2 ratings

Sailor Jerry is my new go to rum for a weekend of fun with friends. Had it for the first time in Gatlinburg at the Hard Rock Cafe. It's very strong, and full of flavor. I would recommend it to anyone.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

I was surprised to see this limited edition bottle on the shelf with the original spiced recipe. It is vanilla, caramel, spice, and a slight burn. The mass produced Sailor Jerry that can be seen everywhere is only about one dollar cheaper. That one ranks at the lower end of my ratings of 6, while this one ranks at the upper end of that rating. In other words, don't go out of your way to find it, but if you stumble across it, give it a try at only $15. I have included a picture of the special edition bottle. Also notice that I did not buy it for the hilarious bottle of a skeleton riding a chopper straight towards you. I only noticed this detail after I opened it up for it's first taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by PacificSpice from United States with 16 ratings

I feel like the hype built my expectation up too high and caused me to be too harsh on this but... It's just not my favorite. It has a very mild spice to it and it being over proof rum doesn't help with that. I can pick up the clove and oak notes but there's something else in there that I can't quite place. But it's definitely something I will have to come back to and see if my pallet has changed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael1980 from United States with 3 ratings

Recommend mixing with soda or water. It has a bit of a bite to it and some would swear that it will grow hair on your chest - or anywhere else you would care to pour it on.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This rum is smooth but lacks any depth of flavour. It is a good mixer as it doesn't stand on its own.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ntaskos from Greece with 6 ratings

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

Perfect rum to blend with cola, lime and ice. Cuba Libre!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by bstix85 from United States with 3 ratings

For a 100 proof rum with a mid-shelf price, it’s not too bad. It’s a great pair with cola. If you’re looking for a cheap, strong spiced rum, you could do a lot worse than Sailor Jerry’s.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by King J from Australia with 9 ratings

Living in rural Australia and not being a millionaire, one's liqour options are limited (inflated costs + limited range). I had been on the verge of giving up trying to make Mai Tais but a bottle-shop worker suggested using spiced rum and Sailor Jerry's was on special (A$43/700ml, normally $54). Compared to what I've used before (a combo of Bacardi 'Carta Blanca Superior White' - $46 or Havana Club Añejo 3 Años ~$50, and Buckeye Classic Golden Carribean $36) this was lovely and smooth. Even comparison-sniffing the bottles, the Havana Club & Buckeye have a noticeable chemical sharpness of which the SJ is free, and it made an addictive Mai Tai (IBA recipe except for using 100% SJ Spiced). However, unfortunately, and to quote another reviewer on here, Sailor Jerry has a mean streak (gives me headaches; as, tragically, does tequila nowadays). So in summary, it's delicious but I can't have it anymore.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

A good spiced rum. Reasonable price. Prefer with mix .

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumcigarcollector from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Good spiced up rum, better looking are on the bottle i like it