Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.1/10 (731 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
12
23
49
106
201
225
68
30
14

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


731 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

7.5 nearing 8 land but I will give 8 for its price
I really like sailor jerry's. I actually call it sailor cherry's because of its strong cherry taste, but I really like it for this feature. Rums mostly go for the caramel vanilla flavor and that's cool but I really do like the cherry trend breaker. Smelling it from the bottle smells almost like nothing, maybe a wiff of sugar cane but that's about it really. Keeps its neutral smell in the glass too but then that cherry smells perks up at the very end with a tinge of alcohol. Straight is very harsh at the end, entry is good but then as it exits it gives you the kick in the mouth. Strong taste of cherry and some vanilla. I used to have coughing problems in the winter because of the dryness and took a lot of NyQuil which make me really learn to like that flavor. This gives me that reminder in a rum form so I really like this one. Excellent in coke the strong cherry taste and vanilla taste live on. BE VERY CAREFUL this rum has an incredible ability to sneak up on you, its VERY common to have 1,2,3 and be like "wow I'm totally sober...." and then the hammer of god (sailor jerrys) comes down all of a sudden like a concrete truck and hits you. A must for any serious bar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael1980 from United States with 3 ratings

Recommend mixing with soda or water. It has a bit of a bite to it and some would swear that it will grow hair on your chest - or anywhere else you would care to pour it on.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This rum is smooth but lacks any depth of flavour. It is a good mixer as it doesn't stand on its own.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ntaskos from Greece with 6 ratings

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

Perfect rum to blend with cola, lime and ice. Cuba Libre!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by bstix85 from United States with 3 ratings

For a 100 proof rum with a mid-shelf price, it’s not too bad. It’s a great pair with cola. If you’re looking for a cheap, strong spiced rum, you could do a lot worse than Sailor Jerry’s.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by King J from Australia with 9 ratings

Living in rural Australia and not being a millionaire, one's liqour options are limited (inflated costs + limited range). I had been on the verge of giving up trying to make Mai Tais but a bottle-shop worker suggested using spiced rum and Sailor Jerry's was on special (A$43/700ml, normally $54). Compared to what I've used before (a combo of Bacardi 'Carta Blanca Superior White' - $46 or Havana Club Añejo 3 Años ~$50, and Buckeye Classic Golden Carribean $36) this was lovely and smooth. Even comparison-sniffing the bottles, the Havana Club & Buckeye have a noticeable chemical sharpness of which the SJ is free, and it made an addictive Mai Tai (IBA recipe except for using 100% SJ Spiced). However, unfortunately, and to quote another reviewer on here, Sailor Jerry has a mean streak (gives me headaches; as, tragically, does tequila nowadays). So in summary, it's delicious but I can't have it anymore.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

A good spiced rum. Reasonable price. Prefer with mix .

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumcigarcollector from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Good spiced up rum, better looking are on the bottle i like it

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Haderfck from Denmark with 13 ratings

Denne rom er utrolig smagfuld med en masse krydderier. Den er hverken i den dyre ende eller billige ende (omkring 300kr), og den virker både alene men også til en drink eller The. Et MUST have efter mit vedkommende

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

I do enjoy this rum. Great mixed with a dry and lime (some say coke). However I think over the years my pallet has changed. I can't drink it neat anymore as I feel it's a little over spiced.
Always loved at parties though and tends to be enjoyed by non rum drinkers. A good entertainer.