Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


688 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

7.5 nearing 8 land but I will give 8 for its price
I really like sailor jerry's. I actually call it sailor cherry's because of its strong cherry taste, but I really like it for this feature. Rums mostly go for the caramel vanilla flavor and that's cool but I really do like the cherry trend breaker. Smelling it from the bottle smells almost like nothing, maybe a wiff of sugar cane but that's about it really. Keeps its neutral smell in the glass too but then that cherry smells perks up at the very end with a tinge of alcohol. Straight is very harsh at the end, entry is good but then as it exits it gives you the kick in the mouth. Strong taste of cherry and some vanilla. I used to have coughing problems in the winter because of the dryness and took a lot of NyQuil which make me really learn to like that flavor. This gives me that reminder in a rum form so I really like this one. Excellent in coke the strong cherry taste and vanilla taste live on. BE VERY CAREFUL this rum has an incredible ability to sneak up on you, its VERY common to have 1,2,3 and be like "wow I'm totally sober...." and then the hammer of god (sailor jerrys) comes down all of a sudden like a concrete truck and hits you. A must for any serious bar.

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Extremely strong & sweet vanilla aromas, vanilla again in mouth with leathery warm finish, tobacco there too.
In the end I was nicely surprised by this spiced rum. It is definitely not an everyday's rum as I would be rapidly fed up with the monotone flavour but an interesting once in a while sip...

78f0326aa06d204e8c37892d65c7354a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

I go finally got around to drinking this and have to say it was nice. I would go as far as saying it's better than Capt. MORGANS spiced rum but depending on who you ask that is not saying much. Its all about whay you desire in a spiced rum. For me it was a hearty drink full of flavor and just enough bite. If anything it would make a great mixer. Especially for a different breed of mojitos.

7447dd42610645ea043806e4152c29f0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vin from United States with 14 ratings

It taste like drinking Vanilla Extract and Caramel/Butterscotch. Very drinkable on ice, mixes well with Coke if you want vanilla flavored coke. Quite sweet too.

It's good for the price, but it's definitely heavily vanilla flavored. After drinking GOOD $35 rum you quickly realize all the flaws with this one.

C2081e96533299d83019bda36136bd43.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United Arab Emirates with 1 rating

Predominant flavour of Vanilla, which I like, especially with Coke Zero which I find brings the flavour out more - I drop a stick of Cinamon into the bottle though as that's another flavour I like and after a couple of days its perfect for me.

I don't drink it neat, but as a mixer in a Cuba Libre its my go to Rum.

Ce0f58bef727b7ce008529bef96c56d9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by david from Australia with 8 ratings

Not a bad Rum and a spicey one at that with a touch of vanilla and a kick like a mule but it is over priced compared with others of the same kind and that is its down fall.

0676e9830c9bdb3470a6f69336d2666b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jon Inns from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Sailor Jerry spiced and Ginger beer is a lovely drink, try the 'firery' ginger beer for an extra kick.

2a158efe7edd36d02d4f950273c12e19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Wouldn't normally be trying a spiced rum like this, but adventures in tiki drink making brought me here. And it works wonderfully! Makes a great Krakatoa punch!

9da6b129af6d9c34fba393cad1687ffa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by tm.mele from Italy with 11 ratings

From the quality perspective: it's totally unremarkable. It's very sugary with obviously added flavours: fruits (cherries?), vanilla, spices (black pepper comes to my mind). Too sweet for my taste, clearly artificial in nature, the flavour disappears extremely quickly, no persistence whatsoever.
Ok, the Rum family is rather large and there is no "official" position as to what a Rum should be like... Yet this spiced drink is not Rum in my book: call it liquor.
I think that this product has an interesting quality/price equation especially if you bought it to blend it in a cocktail.
One simple question: if you rate 7 this Rum, how would you rate a Hampden Estate, full proof? Or a Demerara, 15 y.o. by Samaroli, or even more humbly a Remember by Pepi Mongiardino? This I would like to know.

Ffa3fa4686ca2af0ed582bc63fffe3c1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by acschiller25 from United States with 5 ratings

This is terrible. If you want cheap rum, definitely go for Admiral Nelson

6e8da84f28147182cb877196862ec771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Always enjoy going sailing with my buddy Jerry... great spiced rum that mixes well with a nice cold coke!