Posting your rating...
Rum-Bar White Overproof rum

Rate Rum-Bar White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Rum-Bar White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0ef91b87e1b6809a711c7b29cb563032.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chriswx from Greece with 22 ratings

๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œโ˜๏ธโ˜๏ธโ˜๏ธโ˜๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธ

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

You really need to be a fan of Jamaican funk to enjoy this. The nose hits you with fermented grass, almost like ensilage. Thereโ€™s also a fruity sweetness to it with notes of mango, banana and eucalyptus. Itโ€™s probably designed as a mixer but I only tried it neat. Actually very drinkable considering the 63%, with slightly grassy notes of eucalyptus, banana and white pepper. Itโ€™s a very potent bottle and might not be for everyone, but enjoy it!

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Nice mixer with lots of that jamaican funk and some oomph.

92eed1f0a2e4f2e5a14cc15453ad107f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Robin Wynne from Canada with 1 rating

Worthy Park, 63%, white overproof. Aromas of pure Jamaican funk! Lots of green bananas, olives in brine, blue cheese, petrol or varnish. On the palate, hot(because 63%), ester heavy with green herbaceous undertones. Vegetal and sweet with almond notes. I love this rum. The funkier the better.

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Definitely the worst I ever tried without mixing. Smells so strongly like bananas that I didn't want to eat a single banana for a month. Doesn't go with Coca-Cola either. Perhaps a fantastic ingredient in a dessert, but absolutely undrinkable. 11.December i romkalenderen 2017

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 days ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

I've been a Wray & Nephew fan for a long time, so it took a lot to break me away from my go-to non-agricole rum. Once this hit the palate, I immediately realized how much better it is for cocktails and even straight. Firstly, it tastes cleaner, there are less noticeable congeners presence in the flavor profile and it has a stronger body. Overproofs are always bold ones, but this one stands tall and doesn't coat your mouth with the cloying vegetal and tropical fruits flavors with layers after sipping over time (Unlike the aforementioned previously favored). Rum Bar doesn't leave you with such notorious after effects of other overproofs either, but this is subjective - for me, it's a cleaner buzz. It makes a stellar Jamaican daiquiri...

I'll still got-to Wray if I can't find this, but between the two I'll reach for Rum Bar.

F813243e61573b68b031ef4029097905.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is the alternative to Wray for the unaged overproof rum in your cabinet and I have to say I'm impressed. It doesn't have the nose of Wray but the taste is very similar. I also find this a little smoother than Wray, the 63% doesn't hit you quite as hard. A very good rum and for the price, well worth having!

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This is a typical Jamaican overproof, but more vegetal than a Wray and nephew, but a lot more tame and not as punchy.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a great alternative to Wray & Nephew Overproof. In my opinion (and it may be a fact) this has more esters than W&N.

78595b1d321c1aae75a440cdf8815b60.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Steve Maskell from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Very strong. Use with mixers or maybe in cocktails.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

Its interesting how all three of the big overproof whites from Jamaica can each be unique to each other. Of the three, I would say that Hampden's Rum Fire takes first place for my palette, while this one ties with Appleton Estate's Wray and Nephew. It has an incredible aroma and pungency of over-ripe tropical fruits that often reminds me of starburst, if you could imagine starburst without the sugar.
The perfect mix for all three of these is the Jasper's Jamaican Planter's Punch, which uses a lime juice, nutmeg, and angostura bitters syrup in a 1:1 ratio with the rum (check for the recipe to "Jasper's Mix" online). Otherwise, these rums are indispensable when it comes to mixing with fruit juices or for making punches. They also give incredible results when you make a fruit "rhum arrange".