Posting your rating...
Rum-Bar White Overproof rum

Rum-Bar White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

5.6/10
36 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
1
1
2
4
4
7
8
1
1

Rate Rum-Bar White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

36 Rum-Bar White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Thorsgaard from Denmark with 7 ratings

Det er absolut den dårligste “rom” jeg har smagt.
Overmoden banan på flaske.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Awesomedon from United States with 31 ratings

Looking to get into Overproof semi funky rums this could be the one for you. I enjoy this in most cocktails but if I have to be honest Rumfire is the go to in this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Tim from Canada with 67 ratings

Definitely a contender vs. Wray & Nephew. Big blasts of overripe banana and hot kerosene. Good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Strong stuff. Plenty of funk. Quality rum. Great mixer. Much better than Barcardi or Hampden overproof.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Endnu en rom til cocktails. Meget kraftig ( stærk) rom har dog en smule sødme og meget “funk”

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

I've been a Wray & Nephew fan for a long time, so it took a lot to break me away from my go-to non-agricole rum. Once this hit the palate, I immediately realized how much better it is for cocktails and even straight. Firstly, it tastes cleaner, there are less noticeable congeners presence in the flavor profile and it has a stronger body. Overproofs are always bold ones, but this one stands tall and doesn't coat your mouth with the cloying vegetal and tropical fruits flavors with layers after sipping over time (Unlike the aforementioned previously favored). Rum Bar doesn't leave you with such notorious after effects of other overproofs either, but this is subjective - for me, it's a cleaner buzz. It makes a stellar Jamaican daiquiri...

I'll still got-to Wray if I can't find this, but between the two I'll reach for Rum Bar.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is the alternative to Wray for the unaged overproof rum in your cabinet and I have to say I'm impressed. It doesn't have the nose of Wray but the taste is very similar. I also find this a little smoother than Wray, the 63% doesn't hit you quite as hard. A very good rum and for the price, well worth having!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 95 ratings

This is a typical Jamaican overproof, but more vegetal than a Wray and nephew, but a lot more tame and not as punchy.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a great alternative to Wray & Nephew Overproof. In my opinion (and it may be a fact) this has more esters than W&N.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Steve Maskell from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Very strong. Use with mixers or maybe in cocktails.

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Its interesting how all three of the big overproof whites from Jamaica can each be unique to each other. Of the three, I would say that Hampden's Rum Fire takes first place for my palette, while this one ties with Appleton Estate's Wray and Nephew. It has an incredible aroma and pungency of over-ripe tropical fruits that often reminds me of starburst, if you could imagine starburst without the sugar.
The perfect mix for all three of these is the Jasper's Jamaican Planter's Punch, which uses a lime juice, nutmeg, and angostura bitters syrup in a 1:1 ratio with the rum (check for the recipe to "Jasper's Mix" online). Otherwise, these rums are indispensable when it comes to mixing with fruit juices or for making punches. They also give incredible results when you make a fruit "rhum arrange".