Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10 (682 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
20
48
172
293
140

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


682 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Like many others I have tried the Ron Zacapa 23. To me that was a nice rum, but a bit to sweet, so I wasn´t really interested in trying the big brother XO, but when offered a taste at a work meeting you have to take it and to be honest. It is still sweet, but an improvement on the 23.

Nose: Vanilla, oak, prunes, almonds and toffee
Taste: Raisins, brown sugar, dates, toasted coconut and then a dominant toffee comes and steals the show in the aftertaste
Overall: As said before this is on the sweeter side of the spectrum, but there is not doubt that under the sweetness is some very nicely made rum. The aftertaste is a bit to sweet, which is unfortunate, but overall this is a very nice rum if you want to treat yourself to something sweet, which you have to do from time to time.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Definitely something good happening here but I don't see this as the rum to compare all others too. It's kind of like a woman with an incredible body but acts like an asshole. I want to love it but can't.

The smell starts a little aggressive of alcohol and lingers a touch, but is followed by a sweet molasses aroma. Has a nice burnt sugar taste followed by a touch of banana leaf. It carries the burn for a bit longer than I would like. Zacapa XO has a cognac essence and heat. This bottle is for the aficionados who likes sweet with a bite. It's almost dry at the end while still being creamy. I will revisit you again in the future, but only because of those tits.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Extremely smooth sipping. Ordered this from a shop in New Jersey for $79.99 which was a deal.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 26-30 gpl. I had some friends over for a rum tasting and everyone's eyes lit up when they smelled and tasted this one. Comment was that this one fills your nose mouth and sinuses with a wonderful rush of flavors. It's not available in Ontario, but I bought 2 at the Duty Free. Fellow Canucks if you find this rum, buy 2 of them. You might want to keep one as a present, but you might end up keeping it for yourself.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc GENNAOUI from Canada with 2 ratings

Very delicate like drinking a nectar from the Guatemalan God's.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

The Zacapa XO comes with a large black box and a beautiful bottle (image). On the inside of the box you can read about the Zacapa XO. Very stylish!

In the glass you find a dark coulor, a bit darker than the 23 year old Zacapa. At first it is som alcohol on the nose but if you let it rest in the glass for a few minutes the alcohol disappears and you find toffee, spice and vanilla. The aroma is very smooth and nice. I always let my rum rest for 1 minute per year old in the glass. Makes a big difference.

In the mouth the Zacapa XO is very smooth and sweet at first and after a while I get some spice and oak. All the flavors stays long in in the mouth. The flavor of spice and a little taste of cognac stays for a long time. Very smooth in the throat.

The Zacapa XO is a sipper that I enjoy neat. I think it is a top quality luxury rum but for me there are some better sippers that I have given 10/10.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 12 ratings

I didn't hesitate to give this a 10. The ONLY way to drink this is neat. The smoothness of this rum was like a Caribbean afternoon. Little bit of bite (I wouldn't call it burn) at the end made this my new, favorite rum. It accompanied my Partagas Series E No. 2. For a little over an hour I was absolutely in paradise sitting on the beach in Akumal enjoying both.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not really getting all that much for your money. Dense and cloying the 23 is better but that's not great either.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Autant j'ai été très déçu par le best seller Solera 23 de la même maison qui pour moi n'est pas à la hauteur de sa réputation, autant celui-ci est une toute autre histoire. Le sucre est bien mieux dosé et on retrouve une belle complexité entre la gourmandise et les épices. On est dans la veine d'un El Dorado 21 avec une exécution proche de la perfection. On lui reprochera peut être un léger manque de personnalité mais ça n'en reste pas moins une valeur sûre !

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice ron finished in Cognac barrels taste is good like strong Young man.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

The XO is very smooth. It's rather expensive, but well worth it.