Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10
723 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
22
50
183
316
143

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

723 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Bigdaddy from Denmark with 6 ratings

Dejlig rund rom, dog stadig med lidt kant.

Alle kender Ron Zacapa 23 som lige nu 2014 ikke er nogen speciel oplevelse. Prøv denne i stedet.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A great rum endeed and I really enjoy it, but compared to others in this pricerange it lacks a little in my oppinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

What can I say... Everyone knows Zacapa XO, but for me the best was the first edition with bottle straw

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Lett og varm å drikke. Drikker man en billigere rom og går over til denne kjenner man en vesentlig forskjell,men den varer ikke lenge. Altfor dyr i forhold til hva man får igjen for pengene,det finnes flere sorter som er like god og som koster under det halve. Pen flaske å ha i hyllen

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

I thought the XO was good. It won't crack my top 3 or even top 5...but it was tasty, nonetheless. Definitely has that RZ spice to it, but smoother than the RZ 23 and not as sweet. Has a nice balance of sweet and spice. Burnt caramel corn, spice and orange preserves. Tasted a hint of tobacco at the front of the palette, which means it'll will probably pair well with a cigar. Medium finish. Lots of vanilla and oak wafting from the glass while it decanted. Overall I give it an 8, but it's closer to 7.5 due to it's spicy after burn. Will reach for it again, if offered to me...but doubt I'd buy a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

I dont care about the general opinion of second edition vs first edition. This is still a decent glass. I drank this in a direct comparison with the 2003 XO version.
Seemed a bit more strong on the alcohol, and not quite as soft.
Nose: I find caramalised nuts, roasted fruits and toffee
Taste: I find caramel, toffe and a some sweetness, but its a bit more forward when it comes to alcohol.
A decent rum, but somehow Im not totally excited.. I can find better in this pricerange.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jan Jeppesen from Denmark with 10 ratings

drikkelig, lidt for meget til den søde side, ville hellere bruge pengene på Etiqette Negra

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Taste this and you will pretty much have the textbook example of what an excellent rum should taste like. But to me it doesn't have that special character which will make you remember it long after the bottle is empty.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gary from Canada with 24 ratings

A sin to mix this with anything except ice or maybe a splash of water. Mellow and smooth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Claus Christensen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Favorit

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Geir Arild Haugen from Norway with 1 rating

Endring it. .......