Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10
716 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
22
49
180
312
144

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

716 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Ze ziet er beeldig uit, ze ruikt zalig, ze proeft naar meer, maar...
Beschrijving klinkt alsof het hier gaat over een prostituee. En toch geeft deze rum je dat gevoel.
Je geniet ervan, maar moet je hier echt € 98 voor betalen?
Deze Z XO heeft een hele mooie donkere karamel kleur, traant beeldig en in de neus krijg je een vleugje eik en rijp fruit, kaneel, tot zelfs een zweem van rijpe banaan.
Bij het proeven voelt deze spirit fluweel aan, toetsen van verbrande karamel, tabak, koffie en dit alles met een zoet fruitige toets. Zalig, maar zit hier een rum in van 25 jaar?

Alweer het Solera systeem, maar deze blend heeft de laatste 2 jaar (na Solera) op cognac vaten gelegen. Is dit de oorzaak van de typische droge lange afdronk?

Zou ik het er nog eens aan geven? Volmondig ja!!!
Wat een verschil met de Z 23y!

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Super Nice bottle with box and super good content! this bottle you share alone or with your best friend. Super to have in Rum collection. After testing Zacapa Royal I go back to score 9!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

have a comparison with the Solera 23 and have to admit that the Solera is slightly better then this XO, at least to my taste buds, plus I get 2 bottles for the price of one, but still recommendable.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Good example of top shelf rum but pricier than most.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A great rum endeed and I really enjoy it, but compared to others in this pricerange it lacks a little in my oppinion.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

What can I say... Everyone knows Zacapa XO, but for me the best was the first edition with bottle straw

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Lett og varm å drikke. Drikker man en billigere rom og går over til denne kjenner man en vesentlig forskjell,men den varer ikke lenge. Altfor dyr i forhold til hva man får igjen for pengene,det finnes flere sorter som er like god og som koster under det halve. Pen flaske å ha i hyllen

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

I thought the XO was good. It won't crack my top 3 or even top 5...but it was tasty, nonetheless. Definitely has that RZ spice to it, but smoother than the RZ 23 and not as sweet. Has a nice balance of sweet and spice. Burnt caramel corn, spice and orange preserves. Tasted a hint of tobacco at the front of the palette, which means it'll will probably pair well with a cigar. Medium finish. Lots of vanilla and oak wafting from the glass while it decanted. Overall I give it an 8, but it's closer to 7.5 due to it's spicy after burn. Will reach for it again, if offered to me...but doubt I'd buy a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

I dont care about the general opinion of second edition vs first edition. This is still a decent glass. I drank this in a direct comparison with the 2003 XO version.
Seemed a bit more strong on the alcohol, and not quite as soft.
Nose: I find caramalised nuts, roasted fruits and toffee
Taste: I find caramel, toffe and a some sweetness, but its a bit more forward when it comes to alcohol.
A decent rum, but somehow Im not totally excited.. I can find better in this pricerange.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jan Jeppesen from Denmark with 10 ratings

drikkelig, lidt for meget til den søde side, ville hellere bruge pengene på Etiqette Negra

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Taste this and you will pretty much have the textbook example of what an excellent rum should taste like. But to me it doesn't have that special character which will make you remember it long after the bottle is empty.