Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10 (691 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
20
49
173
299
141

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


691 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

​I'm not getting a huge amount of complexity. As this is pretty expensive in the UK you would expect a lot more when spending this kind of money.

It is a very nice rum and if you can get it for around £60 ( and I was lucky to get it doe this) go for it but as it's generally available around £85 or more than there are better rums around that price mark and much better for even less than that.

They have done a good job with the packaging and I truly love the decanter bottle but it's a shame that it is not reflected in the contents. It's just too close to the 23 in flavour profile which doesn't warrant almost double the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

I found this rum will in Ixtapa with a friend that came from Guatemala. It is the best rum to date that I have found. I'm still looking that's why it didn't get a 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle has been changed to a simpler but still elegant bottle however we are here to talk about what's inside. Zacapa is a well balanced smooth and pretty good rum. I say pretty good because in terms of rum it's crafted the ideal typical rum. You got some allspice going in but in terms of everything else it's a standard rum that has been immaculately conceived. It's not super complex like the likes of Bumbu, Thomas Tew ect. It's a step above the normal. There is a rum called "Motu". It's 20$ a bottle and tastes very similar to R.Z. XO. The only real difference being a sweeter ending where zacapa is a drier ending. All it in all if you think of the typical rum flavor that's about what you have with zacapa. It's by no means bad, I just enjoy the atypical stuff most than your oak-vanilla, spice rums. I do think it's out of it's price range though. I paid 50$ at a duty free store for it and that was a steal but having tasted it I know several other similar tasting rums that can compete with this guy for a much lesser cost. Motu, Cockspur specifically. It's an 8 rum but it's smoothness and attention to detail make me give it a 9.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Piero from Switzerland with 4 ratings

my first Zacapa...it's not my favourite but under the top 5

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott from United States with 38 ratings

Wow..the rum gods gave us a gift...its rare I drink rum straight..but with this, there is no other way...best rum ive tried..perfect balance.. perfection in liquid form..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

A good strong rum. Un très bon rhum Zacapa, mais pour moin cher, je crois que le 23 Solera est presque pareil.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce rhum de tres grande qualite .c un rhum a avoir pour tout collectionneur.assez ducre il est tres equilibre et assez long en bouche.tres doux sa finale sur le pruneau est excellente.ce rhum est un peu sur l alcool ce qui raviera certains connaisseurs.belle bouteille et tres beau coffret tout noir.note 9.1.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

The first impression is that you have a quality product in your hand. Nice box, beautiful bottle and what about the nice color of this divine liquid.
This rum is really smooth, not too alcoholic with an ideal afterburn.
Well balanced with a good aftertaste.
Added on my wishlist !

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Le meilleur rhum que j'ai bu jusqu'ici. Saveurs et aromes sont complexes. Melange de miel, caramel, vanille et fut de chêne Il ressemble beaucoup au 23 solera. Je le conseille a tous.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

En vinnare...!
Rund i smak, inte spritig, lagom söt... Nästan komplett..
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

There is many a rum I like, Plantation Barbados 20th Anniversary, El Dorado 21, 15 and more. This just pips them all in my opinion. Amazing complexity and perfect balance. Every time I drink another rum I compare it to this. Def head and shoulders above the Zacapa 15 and surpasses the 23