Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10
721 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
22
50
181
316
143

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

721 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Ze ziet er beeldig uit, ze ruikt zalig, ze proeft naar meer, maar...
Beschrijving klinkt alsof het hier gaat over een prostituee. En toch geeft deze rum je dat gevoel.
Je geniet ervan, maar moet je hier echt € 98 voor betalen?
Deze Z XO heeft een hele mooie donkere karamel kleur, traant beeldig en in de neus krijg je een vleugje eik en rijp fruit, kaneel, tot zelfs een zweem van rijpe banaan.
Bij het proeven voelt deze spirit fluweel aan, toetsen van verbrande karamel, tabak, koffie en dit alles met een zoet fruitige toets. Zalig, maar zit hier een rum in van 25 jaar?

Alweer het Solera systeem, maar deze blend heeft de laatste 2 jaar (na Solera) op cognac vaten gelegen. Is dit de oorzaak van de typische droge lange afdronk?

Zou ik het er nog eens aan geven? Volmondig ja!!!
Wat een verschil met de Z 23y!

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Haven't had to chance to taste every rum out there, but for the moment this is my favorite

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love the bottle and the rum is top notch. I would drink the Zacapa 23 for half the price, but this is a must have for speical ocassions... like Saturdays.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by chrisonmyface from United States with 4 ratings

I’d say this one definitely has a complex flavor profile that comes on subtly. It lingers in your mouth for a while, in a good way. Very smooth but with a noticeable warmth and a slight bite from the cognac at the end. Good for sipping on the rocks. I’d call it a slow burner because you keep noticing more about it the farther you get into your glass. You can tell it’s a good rum right away, but the real personality of it comes on slowly so you might start out thinking it’s not up to snuff for the price point (I paid $110 in Atlanta in May 2021) but the more you sip, the more it wins you over. I don’t care about unwritten rules or any kind of rum snob stuff, so I put it in a rum and Coke cause that’s what I’m gonna do with most rum I get, and it makes a great rum and Coke, like you’d expect. Some people would say you could just use a cheap rum and be fine but I tried going back and I can’t. There IS a difference it makes.
The bottle I had before this was El Dorado 15 year and it was great to and wins you over faster than this does, but this one is definitely more complex, and if I can notice that, surely someone else would be able to. It’s like one of those songs that you hear the first time and think, “it’s good, but what’s the big deal” but then something changes and it ends up being a classic to you. Sip it, give it time, and don’t over think it, let the flavors come to you and they WILL. Worth it to me.

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 4 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 44 ratings

Too much added sugar and almost gave me a toothache from the sweetness. Not worth $100, id say more like $55.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Ajt95 from United States with 15 ratings

This rum blows all my friend's minds. Very smooth not so much burn as it is a warm sensation. Being on the pricier side it is reserved for special occasions.
Being on the more difficult side to find if you see it for less than $100 buy it instantly.

Side note: i have an old style bottle from pre-2016, getting a new bottle to see the difference.

Small img 20201128 wa0005

Posted 11 months ago by Roberto from Luxembourg with 41 ratings

Real smooth, dark colour, one of my favourite.
A real good Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

Since Zacapa was the first real rum I purchased, I partial to this stuff. Generally, my dive buddies and I figure if it has an XO in the name, worth a try. I scored this on sale for about $81. Since I live on an island, my rum choices are limited. The rum is a beautiful color, sweet smell, and with time, opens up nicely. Can be a little strong at first, but after about 10 mins in the glass, it becomes quite nice. I have not yet tried on the rocks and the bottle is 1/2 full. Not sure I’d be willing to pay full price, but will definitely buy again on sale.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Loïc from France with 3 ratings

Une belle complexité dans l élaboration du produit. Un produit haut de gamme

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rumrhumron from Korea, Republic of with 1 rating

like a huge cognac crown on a bourbon's muscular body, and man's skin lotion.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 220 ratings

I have also tested the “23” and the “Royal”, but I like this one best. It’s more powerful and has a deeper taste than the others.
The sweetness is well balanced and it’s very smooth and len. You can recognise vanilla, dried fruit as well as different spices.