Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10 (691 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
20
49
173
299
141

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


691 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

​I'm not getting a huge amount of complexity. As this is pretty expensive in the UK you would expect a lot more when spending this kind of money.

It is a very nice rum and if you can get it for around £60 ( and I was lucky to get it doe this) go for it but as it's generally available around £85 or more than there are better rums around that price mark and much better for even less than that.

They have done a good job with the packaging and I truly love the decanter bottle but it's a shame that it is not reflected in the contents. It's just too close to the 23 in flavour profile which doesn't warrant almost double the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love the bottle and the rum is top notch. I would drink the Zacapa 23 for half the price, but this is a must have for speical ocassions... like Saturdays.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Roberto from Luxembourg with 38 ratings

Real smooth, dark colour, one of my favourite.
A real good Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

Since Zacapa was the first real rum I purchased, I partial to this stuff. Generally, my dive buddies and I figure if it has an XO in the name, worth a try. I scored this on sale for about $81. Since I live on an island, my rum choices are limited. The rum is a beautiful color, sweet smell, and with time, opens up nicely. Can be a little strong at first, but after about 10 mins in the glass, it becomes quite nice. I have not yet tried on the rocks and the bottle is 1/2 full. Not sure I’d be willing to pay full price, but will definitely buy again on sale.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Loïc from France with 3 ratings

Une belle complexité dans l élaboration du produit. Un produit haut de gamme

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by rumrhumron from Korea, Republic of with 1 rating

like a huge cognac crown on a bourbon's muscular body, and man's skin lotion.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

It's good but for this price you could get 3 bottles of significantly better rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

The extra aging in Cognac barrels adds a new complexity to the rum. Sipping it neat now and loving the long finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

I think of this rum like water through divine hands. It is incredibly smooth and I would say the best I have had to date. I find it hard to justify the cost over Zacapa 23 at 2x the cost, but it is superb.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 214 ratings

Excepțional.. Nu cred că există o descriere a acestui rom aproape perfect. Un rom deosebit. Prețul reflectă calitatea acestei delicatese. Recomand oricând și pentru oricine straight sau on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Cloyingly sweet, hot, syrup, banana, stone fruit, burnt caramel. The finish saves it somewhat; hot goes to warm and hangs around for a nice fruity ending.

Color is so dark it screams added caramel.
Sugar-26g and it taste like at least that much.