Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


665 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Excellent sipping rum. Very smooth and a pure delight!

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 434 ratings

This rum has a very nice smell of oak, cognac, and caramel, and the taste follows the nose. It's nice, but to me it's not quite on par with some of other top rums I've had as I think the cognac aging is a bit much and takes away from the rum slightly. But if you enjoy cognac, then perhaps you'll like this even more than I did.

C91bff3791ec6684b3b87049a0250bfe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by DeepPowRider from Switzerland with 1 rating

Got it from a friend who went to Guatemala. Love this rum! My collection is not that big yet, but this bottle made it definitely in the very top league.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Wunderbarer Ron mit sehr schöner dunkler Mahagoni Farbe.
In der Nase eine ausgewogene Komposition von süssen Vanillenoten, edlen Hölzern und Früchten.
Im Gaumen spielt das Orchester weiter mit dunkler Schokolade, Trockenfrüchte, Karamell, Holz und noch
viele weitere Nuancen sind zu entdecken, sehr komplexer Ron.
Im Abgang gehen Träume in Erfüllung, süsse Schärfe, rote Beeren und noch mehr Holz.
Ein wahres Meisterwerk !

Wonderful Ron with very nice dark mahogany color.
In the nose a balanced composition of sweet vanilla notes, noble woods and fruits.
In the palate the orchestra continues to play with dark chocolate, dried fruit, caramel, wood and still many more nuances are to be discovered, very complex Ron.
The finish, a dreams come true, sweetness, red berries and even more wood.
A true masterpiece!

798f29ea71356f05ef44df60b659335d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Zacapa 23 is one of my favorites and the XO takes it to another level. Smooth and delicious. Can be over priced so look for bargains. Beautiful color, scent and smooth taste.

72075c153a9117247b58cd980ddf796c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

This rum is so different from the rest if the Zacapa family. Heavier, it does not have the classic alcohol aftertaste. Love it.

85662c13c498f6da68b3d9dc13bb4742.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Thomas Erichsen from Denmark with 5 ratings

Købte en på vej hjem fra en forretningsrejse som gik mindre godt.
Denne rom reddede hele turen og faktisk også efterfølgende weekend.

Det er stadig den bedste jeg har smagt og der er altid en i min samling.

245a96750aac41a8cbca4d3841fca46f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by david Anderson from Canada with 4 ratings

Excellent taste throughout and with an exceptional finish. The presentation and packaging is great, well worth the money if you can find it

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I'm not sure if I've built XO up too much in my mind before tasting, but I don't love it. Surely it's a top rum, nice mix of spice and sweet with long lingering finish and strong apricot notes. There's no doubt I'll drink the XO again and would suggest others try it as well - but to me lacks the complexity of other top rums and is slightly too heavy for my palate.

80be7e9723e9073a50ab23f7ec9ae43d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

First of all.. The bottle.. I´m a sucker for nice bottles.. This one tingles my nervs.. It beautiful..

Nose : Nothing at all to complain about.. Nice dark tone to the smell.

Taste : The thickness of the taste.. It totally fills your mouth almost like drinking sirup..

Finish : A long and strong finish all the tones fade away apart from each other and opens up in your mouth.. Perfection in a bottle..

I must say that i was surpriced when i tried this one out.. Since my first Zacapa was the awful Solera 23 i didn´t have any hopes up.. But a friend of mine had a few bottles and he told me to buy one cheap.. If i did´t like it i could always sample the rest of the bottle he told me.. Well.. One zip and i realised that i would never sample a drop from that bottle and hide it when we had guests.. ;)

7736f6d21849818e7a81b494de5017b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Haven't had to chance to taste every rum out there, but for the moment this is my favorite