Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


665 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

466602adbf0ccee5f677f66ee3f574a2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Good to sip without being astringent. Lovely aroma.

78250abd224a61764ae133c8a0655d71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tigix87 from Germany with 7 ratings

It ist truley a Rum of perfection, the taste is very round. But i think What it makes a great experience is the way it goes from sugar plant to Rum. A great Story and at least why its so expensive

8f87e96619ada4ba52f8919503e26344.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Dave from United States with 6 ratings

Tried it neat first, then with ice. I liked it better with the ice. Great color and quite smooth. The after taste is the best, I detect oak and something wonderful that I can't describe. I should have started with a less expensive one but I had to try this. Highly recommended!

Fc188faf67fe048b68a7e74afeea895e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by JustinB from France with 3 ratings

Le rapport qualité prix est vraiment nul. Ça ne vaut clairement pas 100 balles. Même si je l'adore. Très suave, caramel, chocolat.

4843fef297fb44ffc1508ceb860c5b9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Kvalitny aged rum, sladsi, vyrazna chut. V tejto cene mi ale viac chuti Millonario XO

Cec622f8b4d17306a190b06ef7ebc216.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

Tout se passe en douceur
Chocolat noir, fruits secs, caramel, vanille et épices.
La finale se laisse apprécier longuement...
Un de mes meilleurs rhum à vie

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Since I did not have much luck at all with their Zacapa 23 Solera, I was hesitant to plunk down about $90 US on a bottle of this. I tried to sample one pour at a few rum bars, but they were all out. So I walked into one of my favorite liquor stores this morning and this black box just begged me to take it home. My curiosity can be quite costly at times.

My bottle is of the newer design as shown in the photo. When poured into the snifter, it is a reddish mahogany color. The inside of the black box mentioned all of the different casks that were used for aging, including red wine. It supposedly has 26 gpl of added sugar and it's viscosity in the glass shows. Rums of between 6 and 25 years were used in the blend. The aroma is like a fine perfume. Too many complex flavors meld together in harmony, but are dominated by caramel and wood.

The closest rum that I would compare it to is Plantation XO 20th Anniversary at slightly less than half the price. No surprise here, since both are partially aged in cognac casks. As expected, Ron Zacapa XO is a few shades darker than the Plantation XO. Both have complex flavors, but the Plantation is more of fruit while the Ron Zacapa is of wood. If you blindfolded someone to test them side by side, I doubt anyone could tell which one is more expensive. It looks like I won't be buying Ron Zacapa XO again, but I still rate it as a 8. It is just not worth another $90 from me.

I started out ranking this rum as my third overall favorite, right behind Dictador XO Insolent and Dictador 20. Therefore, it starts out with a rating no higher than a 9 (which wound up back down to an 8). However, since it is heavily sweetened, I expect the flavors to change in the bottle over the next few weeks. Blame Christmas Eve and finishing off this bottle after only two weeks to show me it's excessive woody weaknesses. Never again for Zacapa at these prices!

Update June 14, 2020: I know that I had stated that I would buy no more of this rum, but after finishing a major photo scanning project during the pandemic lock down, I rewarded myself with another bottle of this rum since lots of concert refunds paid for it. Guess what? It lasted all of 5 days! I guess that I like it!

A0b9878dcedc4e4da67194c47e5aad33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Brown sugar, toffee, spicy oak, cedar and pipe tobacco.
-
Wonderful with a classic taste.
Not overly sweet.
Better than Zacapa 23 which is already a great Rum.

763f98fbd62a3e71ce26093f8e350e9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Globalstar66 from Canada with 5 ratings

I have been drinking the 23 year old Zacapa for years and last year I bought 5 bottles of XO thinking it would be amazing as it was a lot more expensive than the 23 year old Zacapa. It was just OK - not that impressed with it and not a taste I care for too much... Pity, as I expected a LOT from it.

C016a4895a16d89abd7c141f9628d33e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Akshjps from Netherlands with 5 ratings

First experienced this fine drink around 10 years ago, had it in stock since then. Great taste, very smooth.

D2e2cda246db0f0c222c194351bc47b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

En la nariz vainilla intensa, miel, algo de almendra?
En boca una sutíl viscosidad. Nuevamente vainilla, algo de durazno, algo de chocolate, algo de tabaco. Delicioso!