Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


666 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Excellent sipping rum. Very smooth and a pure delight!

72f6486fa9262072414e50fc08471d27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Grebreden from Sweden with 22 ratings

Bättre än sin lillebror, dyr men fortfarande värd pengarna. Fin hint av cognac på sluten. Elegant lagom söt rom.

D046ec581616b00545d9f59ca8d48b12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Maybe it is a little flamboyant in it's presentation and packaging, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one.
I recently bought a bottle of the Ron Zacapa 23 Solera, which was around 30% cheaper, but noticeably inferior.
I did write a review of it at the time, but something happened after I pressed "Post my rating".
I dont know if it was RumRatings' fault or my internet connection, but it was quite late at night and I couldn't be bothered to re-type what I'd written, so the detail is forever lost. All I have to go on is how long it took me to finish the bottle (hint: ... not very) and remembering the feeling of excitement every time I pulled out the stopper to pour a generous measure into my favoured rum-sipping glass.

75429fb1abedfafd8acdce017a35c418.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Typical but long body. Foul mouth and long soft finish. Caramel, spices, notes of smoked barel

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 107 ratings

Nose: woody, nougat, chocolate, but rather shy
Palate: thinner than expected, slightly oily, not very aromatic and not very voluminous taste, but an acceptable aftertaste. Some orange, some burn and some unneccessary harshness.
8
Sugar: 30 g/l acc. to alko.fi
Positive: they do not hide the age
P.S.: the bottle looks different now:

6236074dc57533d0e69cd291eada5f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Expensive, perhaps, but you can taste the effort that went in to making this superior rum. A great sipping rum that I will enjoy for many years to come.

Da36d20cdd1ddafb5d77d9b7599f2143.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Sha Lin from New Zealand with 2 ratings

This rum was the smoothest I have ever tried. Full and rich and almost like another creature altogether

9d2f13529aaa6650ecc6f7d71b8fc7b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

The smell is very complex due to being aged in many different types of barrels. Very similar smell to cask 1623, with fruit salad smell, pears and apples. In addition there is vanilla and tobacco from the bourbon casks. Very smooth, not very sweet at all. It really shows the complexity because of the four or five different barrel types that it was aged and blended with. 95+

05ab17f0d36cebeef20543f787120d49.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Nonkel Danny from Belgium with 9 ratings

Top rum met een lange afdronk en stevige smaak , net iets te duur om een 10 te geven.

8f221811f05f5ea746390ce912c255a3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by denis_leonov@icloud.com from Ukraine with 6 ratings

Лак,карамель и сладкая вата,полированная древесина,цукаты,пряности,кожа...сладкая выпечка,ваниль...намёк на апельсин(22)
Жидкий,карамельный,фрукты и древесная кислинка(21)
Финиш пряно-сладкий,табак,кожа и финики(21)
Баланс(22)
Неожиданно мне зашёл(86)

05bfee6062577bac2283c84f0529f122.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

It's a good rum, but for the price I expected a superb rum. When you get your hands on it, see its really nice presentation, you get excited to see whats inside. The smell already tells you it won't be as smooth as expected. It maybe complex, yes, but the taste could be much smoother for this price. I know El Dorado 15 is far far far more sweeter, but at half the price it is double as smooth. Even Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva for less than half the price is smoother that the Zacapa XO imho. Definitely not worth the money, althoug it is a good and complex rum.