Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10 (689 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
20
48
173
298
141

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


689 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A great rum endeed and I really enjoy it, but compared to others in this pricerange it lacks a little in my oppinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Snemand from Denmark with 3 ratings

More rich taste than the 23 solera standard Rum - but never really impressed me. I guess it disappeared too quick to really get the true taste :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SKB97 from Denmark with 9 ratings

This is without doubt a nice and smooth quality rum, but it's just not completely worth it's price. Personally I think it's to sweet (and I like prefer sweet rum) which takes attention away from the rums flavours. If only it had less sugar in it and perhaps a higher alcohol percent. When that is said, it's still a good rum worth a try, but not a rum which is a "must have" for your collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tommycorr from United States with 12 ratings

It is so rich and sweet I decant it for others. You may find different, but you will not find a more fulfilling rum of richness and quality. One of the best deals out there for a high end rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Secrow from Germany with 8 ratings

Its the best Rum I had til now. Its almost perfect.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Auriuman78 from United States with 15 ratings

Dark amber, awesome sweet rum smell. Smoothest rum I've had so far. Kind of almost thick like feel on the tongue, tastes like a beautiful vanilla caramel sugar cane with a kick.

This is a good gift bottle to pull out on special occasions. Great stuff. Worth the cash if you can stand it. Just look around you can get great deals on it if you're patient.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Like a woman, handle whit care.
Smell it, taste it, love it.
One of my top of the line.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It is good but not hardly any better than the 23 year solera. At less than half the price, save you money and get 2 bottles of their standard offering.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

This is more round and mellow taste than Zacapa 23.
It's like a Velvet rum.

Ffffff

Posted at V.I.P Lounge over 1 year ago by KathyPG from Trinidad and Tobago with 4 ratings

This is one of the smoothest premium rims I’ve enjoyed! It’s flavor is sensual and it leaves you with the most amazing buzz!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Smooth as silk, warming. Sweet sugar molasses aroma. Sweet but not cloying to my palate. A joy to drink if you prefer sweeter styles. If Navy rums or drier rums are your thing then this is not. I love it. Lots of character. I wouldn't hesitate to give this neat to someone wanting to step into aged rums. Some aficionados will not like the sweet aspect of this rum but it is what it is and for all of that it's simply a joy to sip. Raise one for me!
(UPDATE - my initial rating on this is from notes from a number of years ago. My palate had changed and while I still like this rum I would lower my original rating to a 7.5 or an 8. I find that these super sweet blends are becoming overbearing to my palate as I experience more and more drier and no sugar added rums. )