Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10 (689 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
20
48
173
298
141

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


689 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A great rum endeed and I really enjoy it, but compared to others in this pricerange it lacks a little in my oppinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rum Butler from Australia with 3 ratings

Even though I am a relative newcomer to premium Rum, I can still appreciate quality and complexity in a beverage. For me, the experience of this rum definitely starts with the colour. The way it catches the light in both the bottle and a glass is stunning; bringing out deep, amber tones. The nose is strong with vanilla and oak, and a hint of alcohol. I very much enjoyed several minutes of nosing this prior to tasting. It is not overly sweet, which is important to myself in a rum. The initial taste is complex, but perhaps the oak does dominate a little. The length on the palate is good, and the complexity really opens up as the oak and vanilla dissipate a little. It's very, very smooth. Easy to drink and enjoyable. Highly recommend. Personally, the bottle in which it comes in Australia is a little cheap looking and clumsy to pour from (it is different than the bottle shown for reference on this site). But that, along with the vanilla overpowering some of the more subtle flavours, are the only minor negatives, that take it from a 9 to an 8 rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

Smoothest than 23 Solera, but less presence of sherry.
Good finish. Maybe a litte more sweet than 23 Solera.

For me, very similar to 23 Solera.... I think the price difference does not pay off, but it is highly recommended if you find it with a good price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 180 ratings

dovolím si použít intro od @hunteromario
Zacapa XO, nebo celým názvem Ron Zacapa XO Solera Gran Reserva Especial, je směs rumů starých 6 až 25 let, zrající metodou solera. Nenechte si tedy od heuréky ani e-shopů namluvit, že se jedná o rum pětadvacetiletý. Konečné zrání probíhá v sudech po koňaku, předtím jsou použity sudy po bourbonu i po sherry Pedro Ximénez. Zraje v nadmořské výšce okolo 2200 metrů nad mořem. Jediný rozdíl mezi Zacapa 23 a Zacapa XO je tak v oněch dvou letech navíc v sudech po koňaku. A pak už jen v lepší prezentaci balení a více než dvojnásobné ceně. A vlastně ještě v malé drobnosti, v horší vůni i chuti...
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala

bohatá vůně, lehce alko v nosu
sladší z počátku ale lehce štiplavější konec s kořením

celkově jsem čekal lepší počin. asi klasická solera 23 lepší poměr cena výkon

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Karenseviltwin from Norway with 2 ratings

Smoother than the 23, and not as many flavours, but I do love it

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

It's slightly more complicated than the 23 but really not worth the $$. I wouldn't buy another bottle. But I enjoyed it none the less

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SDV85 from Netherlands with 1 rating

Incredible smooth and sublime depth in flavor. Sweet and silky feel to the tongue. Don't mix this one but sip in a nice tumbler glass and no ice.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

The 23 and the XO are about the same level, why spend more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Natan from Israel with 15 ratings

It’s a great Ron. I still prefer the zacapa 23 but this one is a piece of art!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ross from Australia with 10 ratings

I was really excited to bring a bottle of Ron Zacapa XO home. This was the first really premium bottle of rum I ever bought.

Now, having some depth to my palate, I'd absolutely recommend giving XO a shot, but would also recommend doing so alongside a bottle of Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva or Ron Zacapa 23 (which is a nicer rum in my opinion).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

If you enjoy a sweet aged rum look no further than zacapa xo. It has all the characteristics: toffee, coffee, sugar cane, etc. This rum is a gem and for the price it’s a steal