Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.7/10 (668 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
3
19
46
169
287
139

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


668 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Excellent sipping rum. Very smooth and a pure delight!

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Zacapa XO, nebo celým názvem Ron Zacapa XO Solera Gran Reserva Especial, je směs rumů starých 6 až 25 let, zrající metodou solera. Nenechte si tedy od heuréky ani e-shopů namluvit, že se jedná o rum pětadvacetiletý. Konečné zrání probíhá v sudech po koňaku, předtím jsou použity sudy po bourbonu i po sherry Pedro Ximénez. Zraje v nadmořské výšce okolo 2200 metrů nad mořem. Jediný rozdíl mezi Zacapa 23 a Zacapa XO je tak v oněch dvou letech navíc v sudech po koňaku. A pak už jen v lepší prezentaci balení a více než dvojnásobné ceně. A vlastně ještě v malé drobnosti, v horší vůni i chuti...
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Hutná, těžká, koženě-medově-dřevitě-mátová. Ale nemohu se zbavit dojmu, že aroma je uzavřené. Přímé srovnání se Zacapou 23 to potvrdilo. Postupně, jak si pohrávám s Glencairn sklenkou, tak se otevírá další vrstva vůně a nastupuje starý nábytek, kadidlo, sirup, trochu i sladkost smíchaná s hřebíčkem. (88 b)
Chuť: Hutný na jazyku, olejnatý. Ale je tak zvláštně jemný, na první napití nijak ohromující. Bohužel ani na druhé, ani na třetí napití, ani na dvacáté.Popisy chutě by byly podobné jako u aroma, snad ještě těžší dřeitost, čokoládová dřevitost a trochu borové pryskyřice navíc. Popsané složky vypadají snad lákavě, ale pro mě je chuť celkem zklamáním, to vůně na tom byla ještě znatelně lépe. (86 b)
Body: 87
Shrnutí: Poprvé jsem ho ochutnal na červnové akci s josém v Hořicích, využili jsme toho, že má josé doma otevřenou Zacapu 23 a udělali jsme i přímé srovnání. Zacapa 23 je bohatší na vůně i chutě, je oproti uzavřené, usedlé a těžké XO svěžejší a zajímavější. Stejné výsledky byly později i při porovnání s mým TOP rumem, Presidente Marti 23. Jen ještě s výrazněji horším vyzněním pro Zacapu XO. Asi není náhodou, že na červnové degustaci Zacapa XO skončila na posledním místě ochutnávky, za Plantation Belize X.O. Single Cask Pineau des Charentes Finish a British Navy Pusser's 15 yo Nelson's Blood. Říkal jsem si, že se nebudu unáhlovat a recenzi sepíšu až po dalších ochutnávkách, třeba jí na chuť přijdu časem. No, nestalo se, dojem je stále stejný. Za ty peníze je to opravdu velké zklamání, za 2000 korun bych si raději koupil tři lahve ročníkových Plantationů a udělal bych mnohem lépe. Ale samozřejmě jde jen o můj, čistě subjektivní dojem.

85f3a17553ad46273ae71229bbf9207a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Zacapa XO 40% 40% Guatemala

Eye: Deep reddish mahogany

Nose: Starts with whiffs of stable and sty, ammonia and ethanol that numbs the upper inside of the nose. Then hedges like crushed thuja and hornbeam together with hazel. A peculiar fresh and "cool" scent that reminds me of spring. Very unusual in that respect. Moist soil, clear brook, new leather, hyacinths and lupines. Restrained scent that struggle behind a cloud of ethanol. Then a string of green lime. And then back to the flowers again, predominantly hyacinths and tulips now. Very intriguing smell in this one. Finishes with fragrances like Tabac, caramel and black tea.

Mouth: Developments of broad sweetness, much more than on the nose. Spreads honey, coffee, coconut butter and a plethora of very pleasant spices. Appealing exotic- and oriental elements through the whole experience. Beautifully balanced with a toasted and sweet central theme that lingers unexpectedly in a fresh and spirited fashion. It is long and ends with a welcome dry oakiness.

Reaction: What the smell didn´t manage to convey, the taste made up for. The mouth is excellent. It is a lovely rum that the producer must be very confident and content with. The intention is clear and obviously meticulously delivered. Here we have a complex nectar which is engaging, big and elegant at the same time. One has manage to create a rum that is immediately well received and ingratiating without being boring or overbearing. As an old whisky & cognac appreciator I sometimes find rum to be a little insipid and all too sweet but I think this one serve as a good ambassador for the stuff. It is in a good price range and is easy enough to find (at least in the Nordics). The bottle is very "elegant" which I don´t care for, but hey, who cares when it is up there with the classics?

92p

Price: 999 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

469d5c2e179acfef10ded6680e3c285f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from Thailand with 13 ratings

Great value for money, honey nose and complex finish

C66726ecffb645f72ff677ce12032042.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Fedde van der Woude from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Af half the price of the Abuelo Centuria (my absolute favoriete rum to date) it get's pretty close in smell and thickness. Not quite as rich in taste but XO still lingers longer than most. Smoother in the mouth than the 23 Zacapa its a must have bottle for a serious rum drinker.

A2e620e5680ad952d6996c3aa713c0e9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mathias Rönnblom from Sweden with 3 ratings

Some days this is my favorite rum in my cabinet. Other days the El Dorado 21 beats it, but most often not.
Love the complex, long aftertaste, with just the right amount of burn.

B5e70c8d31206e96fa6e6f58d906d4e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

I think is needless to describe what is perfection for us. The only thing I can say is: taste it and you'll love it!!! I got a bottle for my birthday, and after tasting it, I decided to keep it only for special occasions. Considering the quality, it costs even too little in my opinion! And also, great bottle, great casket...in one word: absolute perfection!

B8289fa362f5b3a183bf7ed8e48b80b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by rgauthier from United States with 4 ratings

My favorite rum so far. Great bottle presentation and the taste to match. Not too sweet but just right.

9f767ff83ad3ef1fd93e74bd3fbd60f7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

While visiting Guatemala all the locals kept tell me to try "Ron Zacapa Centenario" but the labelling is somewhat confusing & it appears that there's several different "Centenario's", typically 15 or 30 years old. The one I had was the 30 year old Ron Zacapa, Solera Gran Reserva Especial & it was excellent. Probably the smoothest Rum I've tasted, but with a wonderful flavour & a slightly spicy aftertaste that makes it delicious.

1c8c70c664e1127b1d6f404c40afdfbd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by JoeVs from Portugal with 11 ratings

An amazing rum. The best I've ever tried. Just for special occasions and to share with special friends.
The old Bottle is excellent as a basis for a lamp (when empty!). :-)

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Smooth and very well balanced with vanilla, marzipan, oak, caramel and honey aroma. Long aftertaste, a little bit too sweet for me but waiting so long to taste it and it's was great experience. Must be part of your collection ! Real rate = 8,5