Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1644 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

I was waiting to sip this one for some times, and although i might have been prejudiced, it was a smooth and great experience.so far my favorite rum. Spicy, smooth. Balanced. A lot of body, strong mouth-feel, heavy. Just great.

Posted over 5 years ago by Federicobz from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

This was the first aged rum I tried, and it was love at first sight, amazing taste, it made me see rum in a completely different way and made me realized what i was missing. I consider this to be one of the best rums I have tried so far, it really has a presence and became famous for it, the combination of flavors, the aroma and how it feels in your mouth, once you have the first sip is difficult not to have a second one.

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Being the rum that introduced me to this world of quality drops it will always be a part of any selection. However it does not have the deepness and smoothness as many of the others in KY cabinet, so it is opened less and less.

Posted over 5 years ago by Niclas Thulin from Sweden with 4 ratings

Copper-tinged gold. Sweet, spicy nose. Caramel and fruit taste. Spicy, slightly fiery. Honey-cocoa-coconut-vanilla finish

Posted over 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Ron Zacapa er rommen vi drikker hos os, alle andre smager vi på.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rony from Finland with 7 ratings

This was my first contact with this rum, and i have to say i enjoy that rich and smokey flavour a lot!

Aftertaste is also brilliant, kind a like its melting and constantly bringing these new flavours to the top.
I like the sent of molasses, color is nice rich and deep..
One of the the best i have found in Finland so far.

Heres a pic from last night :D

Posted almost 6 years ago by scornos from France with 14 ratings

Pour une petite 50aine d'euros, on a un très bon rhum, beaucoup d’arômes, assez sucré (trop?). C'est le rhum qui m'a fait découvrir le monde des rhums vieux.

Posted almost 6 years ago by CaptainRon from United States with 5 ratings

It's a bit sweet, but very enjoyable.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 3 ratings

excellent rum highly recommend it. enjoy

Posted almost 6 years ago by Matej Kubuš from Slovakia with 11 ratings

All-arounder catch almost every beginner.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Anders Pedersen from Denmark with 4 ratings

Works straight up and in cocktails. It´s reputation is bigger that the rum. But still a good rum for all.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Henrik Agelby from Denmark with 2 ratings

Very nice rum. Even that fact that it is ondt a very low percentage of 23 year old rum it is still an exelent glass of rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Hanini from Norway with 13 ratings

Kjøpt på Flesland

Posted almost 6 years ago by Klaus Laursen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Easy to drink lovely taste

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

I like to keep an aged rum around in my home bar, and this bottle was so good, it did not last long at all. It definitely has a sweeter taste, but it is far from cloying. Very smooth, easy drinking. Great in mixed drinks where the base spirit can shine (makes a great Old Fashioned).

Posted almost 6 years ago by Sean from Canada with 10 ratings

It's a decent buy. On the sweeter side. There are better, more complex solera rums out there for the same price I'd say.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Very enjoyable. One of my favourite rums to have neat

Posted almost 6 years ago by Thomas Oredsson from Sweden with 1 rating

Like The aroma, the vanilla, perhaps a bit to sweet and flirty
But very wellproduced!

Posted almost 6 years ago by DJM from Canada with 12 ratings

not as good as flora decana 21 but a rum i will always enjoy with good cuban cigar and will always have in my cabinet..and who in their right mind would purchase an expensive bottle of rum to adulterate it with cola or even water

Posted almost 6 years ago by Anders Sjogren from United States with 7 ratings

I find it a little too bit strong for my taste

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

After trying the new Solera 23, I was disappointed. This rum is a shadow of its former greatness. No longer a 23 year old rum, it has been cheapened for mass production. The flavor profile used to be exquisite, now is just another rum in the market.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 69 ratings

Peppery, but nice on the rocks. Nice choice though.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

Nice sweet solera rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Doug from United States with 3 ratings

I was disappointed only because of all the great reviews I've read about Zacapa being the best rum ever. I thought it lacked the wonderful bouquet of Mount Gay Extra Old and although it was very good I still thought it wasn't as good as Mount Gay Extra Old.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

In the field of smooth and very sweet rums zacapa 23 deserves its place. However the flavor experience is oddly similar but less intense than diplomatico reserva exclusiva. Flor de cana 12 and seales 10 offer even better alternatives for far less money. Zacapa got vanilla, caramel and cocoa but it clearly lacks the oak and leather aspects of more balanced rums.




#