Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10 (1754 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
4
14
18
47
183
464
660
284
73

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1754 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

I was waiting to sip this one for some times, and although i might have been prejudiced, it was a smooth and great experience.so far my favorite rum. Spicy, smooth. Balanced. A lot of body, strong mouth-feel, heavy. Just great.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

Yes! It’s sweet! But not the sweetest and not the worst! Still yummy, still got a little guts, try it in an old fashioned with some tiki bitters!!!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Michael Bech from Denmark with 1 rating

My choice in so many occasions - together with coffee at a party, at the Roskilde Festival between concerts and in the dying hour of the day alone in front of the tv

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Grimmreeper from United States with 15 ratings

This is the first rum I tried that I would call a "premium" rum. It's the one that made me fall in love with rum and continue to try other premium rums. It's slightly sweet but not hugely so. I'd say it's a bit more of a dry rum with a little more of a bite than some others, but still pretty smooth. It has a really good flavor profile, and I think it's one that every rum fan should try.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 144 ratings

A few rums are known by all and have been tasted by all. This is one of those rums. Most people have started their journey into rum with this bottle, which is a decent start, but should never be the end of the road.

Nose: Vanilla, cinnamon and honey
Taste: Caramel, honey and a bit of smoke in the aftertaste
Overall: This is the bottle that is the gateway to the world of rum and for that it should be saluted. It is a nice, but sweet start to a journey of endless tastes and experiences

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Drew Penz from United States with 1 rating

I mixed with a homemade pineapple simple syrup and a dash of bitters for a delicious Rum Manhattan

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rakesh from Netherlands with 2 ratings

I usually prefer cognac over rum when I'm in a sipping mood. Although I must admit that when I first tasted this rum it was kind of a game-changer. It has this sudden sweetness combined with a slow alcohol burn that balances it out nicely. Two is the max for me though given the sweetness. But then again sugar cane is a different product compared to grapes. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

This isn’t a premium sipping rum but is certainly a premium mixing rum. Definitely prefer it over the Mount Gay black barrel. Not harsh at all. Will be trying it shaken with ice and a couple of Caribbean style mixers...perhaps with some Tuaca vanilla citrus liqueur....and a tiny bit of sugar cane syrup.( petite canne from Martinique).

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Smooth and elegant. Pretty sweet but we'll balanced.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Le Zacapa 23 a définitivement sa place dans mon armoire à rhum. Même si le procédé solera mélange les rhum d'âges différent, le résultat est excellent!

Bien moins sucré que le Diplomático reserva, le goût sucré est présent avec une touche de chêne. Très bon pour siroter.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robin Pollet from Belgium with 6 ratings

it's a very good rum. way better than most commercial rums, but for its pricepoint and the hype surrounding it I found it a bit dissapointing. It's a good rum but just a bit overrated.