Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10 (1758 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
4
14
18
47
183
466
661
285
73

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1758 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Flamaropol from Romania with 25 ratings

I know full well that most very famous drinks are usually less than advertised, but this one truly delivers. Incredibly rich taste, exquisite flavour and a truly unique nose.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

Not my favourite but I did enjoy and would recommend to others

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Smooth and sweet. Some might say too sweet. And yes with the Solera system not the all rums used are 23 years old. But it is a nice entry into the quality rum world.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Colore dark Amber, note offline cacao, dry fruit balanced sweet and alcool.perfect forse evry level.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 26 ratings

I consider Zacapa 23 to be the best way to get outsiders into enjoying what aged rum can offer. It's approachable, affordable, and has many other appealing qualities.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

Yes! It’s sweet! But not the sweetest and not the worst! Still yummy, still got a little guts, try it in an old fashioned with some tiki bitters!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Bech from Denmark with 1 rating

My choice in so many occasions - together with coffee at a party, at the Roskilde Festival between concerts and in the dying hour of the day alone in front of the tv

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Grimmreeper from United States with 15 ratings

This is the first rum I tried that I would call a "premium" rum. It's the one that made me fall in love with rum and continue to try other premium rums. It's slightly sweet but not hugely so. I'd say it's a bit more of a dry rum with a little more of a bite than some others, but still pretty smooth. It has a really good flavor profile, and I think it's one that every rum fan should try.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 144 ratings

A few rums are known by all and have been tasted by all. This is one of those rums. Most people have started their journey into rum with this bottle, which is a decent start, but should never be the end of the road.

Nose: Vanilla, cinnamon and honey
Taste: Caramel, honey and a bit of smoke in the aftertaste
Overall: This is the bottle that is the gateway to the world of rum and for that it should be saluted. It is a nice, but sweet start to a journey of endless tastes and experiences

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Drew Penz from United States with 1 rating

I mixed with a homemade pineapple simple syrup and a dash of bitters for a delicious Rum Manhattan

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rakesh from Netherlands with 2 ratings

I usually prefer cognac over rum when I'm in a sipping mood. Although I must admit that when I first tasted this rum it was kind of a game-changer. It has this sudden sweetness combined with a slow alcohol burn that balances it out nicely. Two is the max for me though given the sweetness. But then again sugar cane is a different product compared to grapes. Cheers!