Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10 (1764 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
4
14
18
47
183
467
664
287
73

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1764 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Sugar, sugar and sugar. Thats what this rum is. A bit of 23yo rum for audience, rest mix of much younger ones. Did I mentioned sugar? Yes, there is a lot of it inside. You get sweet, pretty smooth rum, but for this price, you can get much better one.

Smell: Vanilla, cane-sugar, toffe

Taste: Sweetness, smooth, caramel, almost no burn.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Pienso que el Solera 23 fue mejor. De alguna manera ya no me gusta tanto como hace años. De todas maneras es un clásico y sigue siendo de lo mejor que hay en el mercado. Satinado en la boca, potente en la nariz y mucho sabor a vainilla, chocolate y madera. Sigue siendo un clásico y referente, pero mejor es el Etiqueta Negra.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Eoin sweeney from Ireland with 10 ratings

Additives and deception aside this rum tastes great. Not a million miles away from diplomatico reserve which I prefer. Over all I would happily drink this straight .

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Alan C Liverpool from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

When my favourite Scotch was unavailable, the bar tender suggested I try Zacapa 23, I loved it from the first sip. Yes it's sweeter than Scotch but I loved the balance of the flavour, rum was always a mixer for me, but not anymore. I read some say it's too sweet. Not for me, it's smooth and very easy to drink. The rum that started my collection,

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Ochutnal som tento rum 2 krat a pravdupovediac, rum povazovany za jeden z najlepsich vo svojej triede, som si predstavoval trocha inac... jeho chut ma nicim nezaujala.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by john.bakker1957 from Netherlands with 1 rating

After reading many mixed reviews about this rum I'm a little bit confused. My first impression is positive about the taste but I think this is a rum which I will drink occasionally.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Robertsoto11 from United States with 2 ratings

For the price range that this bottle is at, this rum hits all the right notes with its ideal Latin American flair. This rum is perfect for new and experienced rum drinkers. A “go to” rum for any occasion. Enjoyed with a single ice cube or neat; please don’t tarnish this rum with coke or lime.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Armonioso, equilibrato, maledettamente beverino. Il migliore fra i rum commerciali

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 41 ratings

My introduction to aged rum, Solera system and cane juice. I was surprised by how not unpleasant it was. Since then I’ve learned about dosage and misleading age statements. Nevertheless I like it. There, I’ve said it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Logoscripto from Greece with 12 ratings

it was my first entrance in the world of rums. i did't buy another bottle since but it was good enough to convince me to drink rum. sweet easy drinking rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

The rum is ok, but not special as it is highly rated. I do nit like the aftertaste.