Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10(1834 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
14
18
51
187
495
685
297
75

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1834 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is a delicious rum that is smooth and full of flavour.
It's quality exceeds the price tag.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Fozzy from Sweden with 10 ratings

A friend introduced to me to the rum adventure with a bottle of this one. Nice and lean, sweet(witch i like). Smokey oak caramel and vanilla. Easy sipping! Edicion negras little brother. Nice!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nice nose and no real bite at first sip. Agree it is a bit sweet with a flat, deep taste. An exceptional mixer with citrus or ginger ale though not as good with a coke. Most rum fans, not critics, will find this a great rum. I will keep it in my bar but did expect more to it based on other reviews.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by JAMBOABOMBA from Italy with 9 ratings

Bought two times in one mont for 40 euro.
The smell it' s fantastic, so sweet and deep.
On the palate you have sugar cane, i feel honey and some wood due to the agement.
Perfect to drink neat or with 1/2 ice cubes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

From the rum hamburgers, this is a solid choice. Good taste. Some added sugar though.

Edit: After few more years with proper rums from Barbados, I cant handle these oversugared rum-like drinks.

Solera aging means, that there is only a "homeopatic" amount of 23 years old rum.

Buy Mount Gay XO or R. L. Seales 10. Those are proper rums

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Ron Zacapa 23 is a "solera agricole ron" If you don't know what that is, please take the time to educate yourself before reviewing. There is a difference between Rhum, Rum, and Ron. Zacapa solera ron is progressively blended 6 to 23 year ron. There is no deception although many whiskey drinkers get confused with this type of blending that has existed for centuries on its own. Agricole Rhum (French) is made from sugar cane juice, not molasses as in many British "rums".
I am puzzled why some reviewers claim it is full of additives? Haters? It may not suit everyone's taste but that is not reason to make these false claims.
There is a reason Zacapa line has won many international awards and sets a standard for all others.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by NiomiJ from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Very smooth with a pleasant burn of alcohol afterwards, reminded me more of sipping a nice whisky than the rums I had tasted up until that point.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Nemo072009 from France with 4 ratings

Ce qui a été longtemps pour moi un des meilleurs rhum au monde. Avant de rencontrer le dictador XO...😁🥃

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jbovalley from United States with 1 rating

One of the best rums I’ve tasted, bold rich flavor that’s smooth on the pallet. Doesn’t get a 10 just because I haven’t tasted enough rums yet ( tasted about 25) so still looking for number 10 :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Velmi populární rum, který je dle mého názoru dost přeceňovaný. Chuť i vůně jsou nasládlé ovšem žádná "pecka" to není.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 25 ratings

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera, a balanced blend of rums aged from 6 to 23 years. Hints of alcohol, lots of spices, some vanilla, caramel and fruit in the nose; very pleasant. The taste is a continuation of the nose; again lots of spices in a smooth rum. The aftertase disappears a little bit too fast. Concluding: smooth and balanced