Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1651 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is a delicious rum that is smooth and full of flavour.
It's quality exceeds the price tag.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikkel from Denmark with 3 ratings

Flot lysebrun farve. Har en lækker rund smag af rørsukker med en lille spids af sprit. Rigtig god rom, som bør drikkes ren.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mathias Rönnblom from Sweden with 3 ratings

This was my entry into the world of dark rum. Would have rated it a 10 back then, but have since tried quite a few surpassing it. Still remains a sort of benchmark.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mats from Sweden with 4 ratings

Denna Ron Zacapa var en favorit tidigare men det var innan jag provat andra. Den är inte så rund och mjuk i smaken som jag upplevt tidigare. Kan till och med upplevas lite spritig. Finns godare som dessutom är betydligt billigare.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Patryn from Portugal with 12 ratings

One of the most reviewed rums out there, full of notes of smoothness and sweetness... well the bottle I tasted must have been spoiled because I did not feel the smoothness ( similar to a "normal" 12 year old rum ) and it was not so sweet in the existing notes.
Very over rated... but this is my Humble opinion ofcourse

Posted almost 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

Pre mna jeden z najlepsich rumov. Ak chcete niekomu predstavit kvalitny rum toto je zrejme ta prava volba. Nie je moc presladeny, ma krasnu vonu. Skvely rumik na popijanie

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Prvne na fotbale asi 4 sklenicky a je to fakt lahoda

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Very smooth and nice, but gets a bit lost with cola. I can imagine it being very nice straight or with ice

Posted almost 5 years ago by Gorm Eriksen from Denmark with 4 ratings

For 5 years ago it was tasting better, to much of the younger rum now.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

syntes langt fra denne rom er så god som den er blevet kaldt.
måske de har slækket lidt på kvaliteten, efter den er blevet en supermarkeds rom?
men da det er sagt, er det stadig et af mine yndlings glas at stikke snuden i og tage en rigtig god sniffer :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

veramente un ottimo rum
Dalla grande struttura aromatica, denso e complesso, con sentori di frutta esotica, frutta matura, fichi secchi e crema, con una leggera sensazione speziata. Avvolge il palato con nobili sentory di sherry e legno, con finale elegante ed evocativo.

Posted almost 5 years ago by NL from Denmark with 5 ratings

En ROM alle kan drikke og meget behagelig i smagen. Forventningerne til den efter omtalen holder ikke efter at det er blevet en solera ROM.

En ROM man skal i gennem og står i de fleste barskabe...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

Very balanced, good price, nice taste. Simply love it!

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

Some people take all the fun out of drinking! I'm not one to drink liquors straight. I'm a cocktail/daiquiri drinker (beer? ew) and feel no shame. Most of my drinks of choice are rum-based. A little Bacardi in a hurricane mix and I'm fine. Now I married into a half-Cuban family, so when they could my in-laws would sneak me some Havana Club and I'd mix it with Coke. I was introduced to Zacapa by a friendly bartender who let me do some tasting on a slow lunch hour. I'd never liked straight Rum but wow, this tasted great and didn't make me spit and cough. Loved it enough to make a note in my phone. I just got my first bottle this week and was even better than I remember. I don't pretend to understand liquor very well, but for some reason I HAVE to drink Zacapa neat. I mean, I'm sure it would be great as a mixer but if I pour it over ice it seems to burn my mouth and throat just like any old rum would. It has good flavor and doesn't make you wince...also packs a punch! What's not to love? BUY IT!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stubbs from United States with 5 ratings

A rum that all rum cabinets need to have. When I offer a non rum drinking a glass for tasting it will always be Zacapa. From that point I can take them on the world wind tour of rum. Then we finish with Zacapa.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

What can be said that hasn't already been said about this rum in the other 200+ ratings.
It is what it is; a smooth sweet rum that is easy to drink everyday.
I like this rum but find it can become too sweet if I drink more then one or two at a time.
I hope to try some of the other Zacapa's one day.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Aaron from Belgium with 5 ratings

Started appreciating the wonderful taste of rum not so incredibly long ago, and now I'm getting to know more rums each week. This still is the most expensive rum i own to date, and certainly am enjoying it the most as well. Took the advice from the box and added 1 ice cube.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Strowell1 from United States with 7 ratings

Great depth, good sugarcane flavor with fruit and vanilla in there. Kind of sweet for a true sipping run but very tasty.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

This is a good every day rum. The one you would have a glass (or two) after a days work. I find it wee too sweet, but this is corrected in the XO.

As with every premium drink you're buying a brand and a experience. I love the Zacapa brand and the bottle. You'll never go wrong with this rum.

1-2 pieces of ice to cut the sweetness.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nolan Rux from Denmark with 4 ratings

Beautiful Amber Color, sweet but not too sweet sugar cane and vanilla blend, as well as a very decorative bottle. No matter how many times I try this, it never gets old for me, it's a true classic that'll never die for me! I can always go back to this Rum and remember just how damn good it tasted. Whether on the rock, in Cola, or straight in a glass, I recommend this for any person looking to try a REAL rum. :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

i really didn't know what to expect and was a little apprehensive about spending $70 plus on a bottle! It was an amazing experience and was great to drink on the rocks and even with a splash of Cola! All the spices seemed to pop out as you let it sit for a few minutes! A must have for any home bar!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Krapaow from Sweden with 6 ratings

I had high expectations on this one but it couldn't fulfill them. QRM Beats this one. It's a nice rum tho and it has a lot of flavors to discuss with your friends but something is missing.

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

Had this at Bradstreet Craft House In MPLS. So smooth and very light run with little burn at end. The flavor is insane and really powerful for such a light body rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jul from France with 28 ratings

Dans la meme gamme que matusalem, millonario...
Trop rond et sucré pour en apprécier toutes les subtilités

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sandro from Switzerland with 15 ratings

He would win a popularity contest. But is he this great?
One would expect yes.
It has a rich taste of sweetness and spices, and for the price tag he sure is a pleasurable Rum.