Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1648 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is a delicious rum that is smooth and full of flavour.
It's quality exceeds the price tag.

Posted over 4 years ago by Patarum from France with 37 ratings

Reminds me the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva (may be a little more complex but surely for a few bucks more).
Very smooth without any alcohol burn.

Posted over 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

En god begynder rom. Den når ikke op til f.eks Ron Millonario XO,

Posted over 4 years ago by Anders René Jensen from Norway with 5 ratings

This bottle is historical for its early batch. However, this newer one isnt as good as what mode them famous

Posted over 4 years ago by niclas ericsson from Sweden with 1 rating

Very good balance! Smells marvellous. Nothing that can spoil the experience of a perfect rum... Does not have a particular taste that takes over, but the perfect blend of flavours makes this an excellent choice for any lover of great rum!

Posted over 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

This rum is well known. But, for me, it is not that good, as everyone says. I had better pieces thhan this, but still, this is a one good rum!

Posted over 4 years ago by Marco from Belgium with 22 ratings

Je ne m'en lasse pas, toute la série Zacapa est fabuleuse: doux et complexe, jamais écoeurant. Une recommandation: achetez-le à l'aéroport, c'est une vraie affaire dans les 60€!

Posted over 4 years ago by Lukas M. from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera, its easy. Very smooth rum which I use for friends to introduce rum to them. And to be honest, it works well. The smooth taste has already convinced several of my friends to start rum life.

Posted over 4 years ago by BIGBEN from France with 13 ratings

la valeur sur ! on ne se trompe pas en prenant un Zacapa

Posted over 4 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Gets sickening with coke after too many. But on the rocks with lime wedge or watered down with coconut water is my favorite way to enjoy this Guatemalan rum. 1/4 the price of the xo and almost as good

Posted over 4 years ago by MartinH from Slovakia with 10 ratings

sweet, sweet, sweet! you will drink it like a water, this is one candy, like a reward for a good behavior, best straight, 45€ for 1L, one of the best buys! will ever buy again.

Posted over 4 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Voici un bon rhum très doux à base de mélasse,

Premières impressions, un nez très doux, léger sur des notes de caramel.
En bouche, il est plus corsé et complexe avec une finale longue et agréable.

Un rhum très bon donc, à déguster sec. Cependant, je soulignerai une petite ombre au tableau, son prix.. Pour ce prix, j'en attendais plus.. Je trouve, personnellement, que d'autres rhums sont plus intéressants pour moins cher.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Mein Vergleichsrum - hab immer eine Flasche im Schrank. Süss, jedoch nicht übertrieben. Angenehm und sehr sanft. Viel zu schade zum mixen.

Posted over 4 years ago by Alexander Hæstrup from Denmark with 5 ratings

Good, simple rum. I don't get excited, but it still enjoy it.
Prefer his big brother, Zacapa XO

Posted over 4 years ago by vk6519 from Russian Federation with 14 ratings

Nice rum. The flavor is deep and balanced. Very, very drinkable

Posted over 4 years ago by Ivan Borrits from Denmark with 4 ratings

This is the first rum i tasted Straight up, and also this rum is the reason my interest in rum started

Posted over 4 years ago by Max from United States with 10 ratings

I honestly like the 12y better than this... I found this one to be a bit aggressive . I like smooth, sweet, silky rums, this one feels more like a whiskey.

Posted over 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

Mit diesem Rum hat meine Leidenschaft für dieses Getränk angefangen. Einer der Besten :-)

Posted over 4 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Il en faut pour tous les goûts mais on est plus proche d'une liqueur de rhum très doux, trop de sucre, la version XO en revanche est réellement plus adapté à un amateur de vieux rhum.

Posted over 4 years ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

It is really smooth all the time, a little sweet in the middle, and slightly astringent for the palates in the pre-finish phase and with a significant caramel finish! Really quality drink !!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Romain from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Similar to Diplomatico reserva exclusiva but with less sugar and a better balance. Be careful this is not a 23 years rum but a blend of rum. I bought the bottle but did not see it was a blend. Nothing compared to a XO. It is easy to drink and slightly more complex than Diplomatico reserva exclusiva. Bottom line, good digestive rum but not something unforgettable

Posted over 4 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I love this rum. It is so versatile, wonderful with a splash of coke or just sublime with ice. Smooth as silk from start to finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Thomas McClure from United States with 16 ratings

Personally, I believe this Ron Zacapa to be great when making a rum sour. I cannot mix it with Sprite like I do some of my other rums, considering it is not as sweet as the other rums I typically enjoy. It would probably go better with Coke, but I haven't had Coke in awhile. Maybe I will try it one day.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefan h from Sweden with 4 ratings

For me, I fine rum. Smooth taste with a hint of plums, later on a hint of honey. A bit too sweet. Aftertaste goes on for a long time. Prefer it without ice

Posted over 4 years ago by Kevin Green from Canada with 6 ratings

I originally received this as a gift and have bought several since. I drink this instead of vsop cognac.