Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.6/10 (1674 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
4
12
18
43
176
451
621
273
71

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1674 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

256e67e3172548e25c4d7f800a62721b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is a delicious rum that is smooth and full of flavour.
It's quality exceeds the price tag.

4455ecb5efb9fab9219d14ca9c108afc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Drew Penz from United States with 1 rating

I mixed with a homemade pineapple simple syrup and a dash of bitters for a delicious Rum Manhattan

2871c84075365731a2174775975ecd26.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rakesh from Netherlands with 2 ratings

I usually prefer cognac over rum when I'm in a sipping mood. Although I must admit that when I first tasted this rum it was kind of a game-changer. It has this sudden sweetness combined with a slow alcohol burn that balances it out nicely. Two is the max for me though given the sweetness. But then again sugar cane is a different product compared to grapes. Cheers!

Fcbb40d7c733d1e8b4c08f5ea4c4923a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

This isn’t a premium sipping rum but is certainly a premium mixing rum. Definitely prefer it over the Mount Gay black barrel. Not harsh at all. Will be trying it shaken with ice and a couple of Caribbean style mixers...perhaps with some Tuaca vanilla citrus liqueur....and a tiny bit of sugar cane syrup.( petite canne from Martinique).

Da149029c7dfbea445ce0facf6afe6a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Smooth and elegant. Pretty sweet but we'll balanced.

Cca92d7d837914c21fe178bd74b141fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Le Zacapa 23 a définitivement sa place dans mon armoire à rhum. Même si le procédé solera mélange les rhum d'âges différent, le résultat est excellent!

Bien moins sucré que le Diplomático reserva, le goût sucré est présent avec une touche de chêne. Très bon pour siroter.

6ffb1e449fa9dc577cbc8c819079a248.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robin Pollet from Belgium with 6 ratings

it's a very good rum. way better than most commercial rums, but for its pricepoint and the hype surrounding it I found it a bit dissapointing. It's a good rum but just a bit overrated.

76f18a01cb821cad67bbd62696722f8b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Johan from Sweden with 3 ratings

Had a rum tasting with some friends with Dilpomatico N°2, Appleton, Cartavio XO and Morgan private stock and this won out.

Nice sweet taste without mich alcoholic kick. Fairly complex taste with hint of nuts/fruits.

F91eb13d62cec23af5c2e3979b7001a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Zacapa is one of the most renowned rum brands in the world and that is why this rum was one of my first contacts with the world of rums. Despite produced in Latin America, the taste is more similar to British type rums and brandy. Although I find Zacapa slightly overrated, I would never reject a glass of this rum which is "reccomendable to most". P.S.: Very beautiful bottle. 75%

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The L Garage almost 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

A benchmark rum. A Solera, so the label is misleading (with the oldest at 23 years). But, a smooth drinking rum.

On the nose you find oak, toffee, fruit, vanilla. Take a sip, and as it lingers other flavors awaken. Smooth, with a little more vanilla, spices.

Not a lot of burn in the throat. The nose lingers, as the alcohol fades.

Efa2f69edc131d0e53db1439bff2f273.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Milan from Serbia with 7 ratings

Only few words for this fabulous rum. Younger brother of Zacapa XO. It follows it very well.