Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1648 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is a delicious rum that is smooth and full of flavour.
It's quality exceeds the price tag.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hank from United States with 16 ratings

Smooth, goes down easy, lightly sweet. Not as creamy as Centenario XX but easily 8 points. A good sipping rum for under $50.

Posted over 4 years ago by CBags from United States with 10 ratings

Having been introduced to sipping rum with Zacapa, I will freely admit I may be biased. However, Zacapa is an excellent rum, I prefer it on the rocks, but any method would be good.

Posted over 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Zacapa realise un rhum doux , sucre, equilibre.tres bon il manque juste de complexite et de longueur .il est considere par beaucoup parmis les 15 meilleurs rhums vieux abordables.A essayer obligatoirement pour tout amateur.note 8.0.

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from Thailand with 13 ratings

Extra Sweet to make it accessible to most, probably overpriced yet an easy everyday rum for beginners

Posted over 4 years ago by Fedde van der Woude from Netherlands with 8 ratings

After many a Havana club & coke Zacapa 23 was the rum that started me on drinking rum straight. I hear the critics about the actual age etc. Still to me its all about taste and and Zacapa has it in abundance. My go to sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Vladimir from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Jednoduše klasika mezi rumy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob Saaby Nielsen from Denmark with 20 ratings

I've heard this rum praised quite a few places.

But I don't get it. Relatively mild, sweet but not sugary, not much bite or nose.

It's OK. But nothing more.

Posted over 4 years ago by LHS from Canada with 11 ratings

This is the one rum I'll recommend to anyone who asks what to buy. It appeals to a wide variety of tastes and is widely available. On the rocks or mixed with cola, it is thoroughly enjoyable and I get the same feedback from others I know who try it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rave13 from Italy with 12 ratings

Because of popularity of this rum I expected something special. Good taste and equilibrium, but it is not so exciting or unforgettable rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Volter from Estonia with 7 ratings

RON ZACAPA SOLERA... no on ikka rumm mis peaks olema ühe tõelise rummisõbra baarikapis väljapaistval kohal. Hind 50 euro kanti pole küll odavamate killast aga samas ega see kah mingi bacardi puskar pole. Õhtul 6cl jää ja laimiviiluga... LIHTSALT SUPPER

Posted over 4 years ago by Roberto from Italy with 8 ratings

Rum certamente di qualità, qui in Italia il più bevuto, anche chi non apprezza i rum lo conosce.
Trovo che si possa trovare di meglio a questo prezzo ma rimane uno dei miei favoriti in quanto è causa sua se mi sono appassionato al mondo del rum.
Da bere liscio dopo una breve maturazione nel bicchiere, si percepisce bene l'odore ed il gusto del caramello, molto morbido al palato

Posted over 4 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

I liked this one a lot. Very smooth pleasant taste with a slight sweetness. Not as good as my favorite El Dorado 15, but a close second.

Posted over 4 years ago by ginkstar from Germany with 6 ratings

I would really love to try a Zacapa without any sugar. This one here is a little bit too sweet (not as much as A.H or a Diplomatico/Botucal) but still a great sipping rum. I had never the chance to test the old 23 anos version, but this is the standard premium rum you should have at home (next to Diplomatico)

Posted over 4 years ago by RumRas from United States with 7 ratings

Rum always have the misconception that rum has to be sweet and for my experience great rums always tend to finish dry. Pretty approachable rum for the one looking to just getting into the rum world. Easy to drink but a bit too sweet and a little to much residual sugar in the palate.

Posted over 4 years ago by De Baron from Netherlands with 1 rating

Great smooth Rum. Perfect to drink it on the rocks. I prefer to drink this rum with a cool rock instead of ice, better for the taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by James Cove from United States with 7 ratings

Really a great taste, smooth with a perfect amount of spice. 7 and not an 8 only because it's too sweet for my palate. Kind of like Pyrat rum on a higher scale. Balances out when you have it on the rocks.

Posted over 4 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

This was the beginning of a Lovestory. I love rum. It has it all from odor to flavour. Every other rum will be compared to this one. Hard to beat but not impossible.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kurtiki from United States with 11 ratings

This is a nice rum, has a bit of sweet opening taste and a somewhat dry finish. Some may compare it to the less expensive Zaya, and except for the finish I can see the similarities (and not just in the bottle).

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

much better than the XO, to me anyway. as mentioned herein, drink too much and a hangover will result. lol.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefano from Italy with 12 ratings

I love this rum,maybe is a female rum, but so good!!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

very well balanced rum . soft and sweet . good choice. For ordinary drinking....

Posted over 4 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

What can I say it's great straight no mix with a cigar

Posted over 4 years ago by Goldtyger from United States with 11 ratings

An excellent rum on the sweet side like I like it but in the price range I prefer the centenario 25 years

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy Serwatuk from Canada with 3 ratings

I found this in a duty free shop airport coming back from Ft Lauderdale. I tried in the day after I got home and made my in-laws grab another bottle when they were coming through the airport later.
It's a smooth and tasty rum. I enjoy it straight up,, maybe with some whisky stones in the summer.